Advising

Advisor Notes

What is Advisor Notes?

Advisor Notes is a platform allows advisors and appropriate staff to document student contact and log supplemental information appropriate for the student’s educational record in the MaineStreet Student Information System.

Those faculty and staff with an advising load, and those staff who support the advising role, may be granted access to complete the training through Blackboard.  If you do not see that you have access to the training in Blackboard under "Courses where you are: Student" please contact one of the individuals listed below to request access.

 

Advisor Notes Training

To be eligible to use Advisor Notes faculty and staff must successfully complete MaineStreet Advisor Notes Training with a score of 80 or higher and inform one of the individuals named on the list below so that appropriate security access may be granted.  Once your access has been granted you will receive an email indicating your security access is finalized.

The information within these modules will guide you through a review of FERPA (Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act), the do’s and don’ts of writing a note, and how to use the Advisor Notes function in MaineStreet.  The training takes approximately 10 minutes to complete.

Remember that once a note is saved, it is visible immediately by the student and becomes part of the students’ official academic record.  If you would like more information about FERPA, you can either revisit that specific section in the training module, or you can read the official FERPA regulation.

If you have specific questions regarding FERPA please contact Karen Pires, 207-780-5011, kpires@usm.maine.edu.


How to Obtain Access to Advisor Notes in MaineStreet

After you complete the Advisor Notes Training your next step is to notify one of the individuals on the list below to request a verification of your score, and access to Advisor Notes in MaineStreet.  Once your request is fully processed, you will receive an email indicating that your security access is finalized (usually within 1 – 2 business days). 

Blackboard will remain available to you should you find a need to review the training.  

If you have questions now or later regarding Advisor Notes please feel free to call any of the following individuals.

 

Alice Cash acash@maine.edu 207/ 780-4184
Pam Edwards pedwards@maine.edu 207/ 780-4396
Helen Gorgas-Goulding helen.gorgas@maine.edu 207/ 780-4629
Beth Higgins bhiggins@maine.edu 207/ 780-4632
Karen Martel karen.martel@maine.edu 207/ 228-8182
Kim Warren kiwarren@maine.edu 207/ 780-5902
Bonnie Stearns bstearns@maine.edu 207/ 780-5050
Brenda Webster brenda@maine.edu 207/ 780-4802
Lynsey Thibeault lynsey.thibeault@maine.edu 207/ 780-4201