Advising

Advising Notes

Congratulations on completing the Advising Notes Training!  Your next step is to sign your Certificate of Completion and complete the Security Access Form.

Once the form is completed and the needed signatures are acquired, the form and your certificate should be scanned and emailed to the USM security liaison Tamara Saarinen, Human Resources. You will receive an email indicating that your security access is finalized.

Blackboard will remain available to you should you find a need to review the training.  

If you have questions regarding Advising Notes please feel free to call any of the following individuals.

Alice Cash acash@maine.edu 207/ 780-4184
Pam Edwards pedwards@maine.edu 207/ 780-4396
Helen Gorgas-Goulding helen.gorgas@maine.edu 207/ 780-4629
Beth Higgins bhiggins@maine.edu 207/ 780-4632
Karen Martel karen.martel@maine.edu 207/ 228-8182
Rodney Mondor rmondor@maine.edu 207/ 780-5281
Kim Warren kiwarren@maine.edu 207/ 780-5902
Bonnie Sterns bstearns@maine.edu 207/ 780-5050
Gerri Therault therault@usm.maine.edu 207/ 780-5782
Brenda Webster brenda@maine.edu 207/ 780-4802
Lynsey Thibeault lynsey.thibeault@maine.edu 207/ 753-6561

Remember that once a note is saved, it is visible immediately by the student and becomes part of the students’ official academic record.  If you would like more information about FERPA, you can either revisit that specific section in the training module, or you can read the official FERPA regulation.

Karen Pires, 207-780-5011 / 207-780-5107, kpires@usm.maine.edu is the best person if you have specific questions regarding FERPA.