Center for Collaboration and Development

Community Based Learning Committee

Overview

The Community Based Learning Committee (CBLC) is a standing committee of the Faculty Senate.  Their charge is to support the integration of community-based faculty teaching, scholarship, and service, and advance community engagement throughout the university.

The CBLC supports a wide variety of community-based scholarly and pedagogical projects pursued by faculty through faculty development initiatives in collaboration with and between units across the University. The CBLC is not an evaluative committee, but is available to advise, consult, and make recommendations on community-based work in relation to pedagogy, scholarship, relationship-building, and course integration.

Guiding Principles

The Community Based Learning Committee (CBLC) affirms that community-based teaching, learning, and scholarship are valuable pedagogically, essential to the mission of the University of Southern Maine (USM), and key to the education of its student body.

The CBLC envisions that in 5 years USM will grow as an engaged learning University, and will:

  • Be regionally and nationally recognized for equitable accessible, high quality community-based learning opportunities for students;
  • Fulfill the mission of a public university through prioritizing and coordinating meaningful, mutually beneficial community partnerships;
  • Ensure systemic administrative support, recognition, and commitment to the growth and success of community engagement at USM.

 

For information about the USM President's Award for Community Engagement, please click here.

 

2016-17 CBLC Membership

  • Sara Needleman            Education                                              sara.needleman@maine.edu
  • Michael Shaughnessy    Art                                                         michaels@maine.edu
  • Michelle Jacobus           Social & Behavioral Sciences               michelle.jacobus@maine.edu
  • Tracy Stutzman              Tourism & Hospitality                            tracy.stutzman@maine.edu
  • Nathan Hamilton            Geography/Anthropology                      casco@maine.edu
  • Jean Whitney                 Extended Teacher Education                jean.whitney@maine.edu
  • Kelly Hrenko                   Art Education                                        kelly.hrenko@maine.edu
  • Janet Nelson                  Business                                               janet.nelson@maine.edu
  • Paula Gerstenblatt         Social Work                                           paula.gerstenblatt@maine.edu

 

For questions about the CBLC, please contact Meghan Cadwallader, Director of Educational Partnerships (meghan.cadwallader@maine.edu).