College of Science, Technology, and Health

Cape Elizabeth Wins Northern New England Science Bowl

The Cape Elizabeth High School “A” Team swept through the final round, defeating Waynflete to win the 2012 Northern New England Science Bowl, held Saturday afternoon, March 3, at the University of Southern Maine in Gorham.

The Cape Elizabeth team now has an all-expense paid trip to the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl, scheduled for April 26 through 30 in Washington, D.C.

Members of the winning team include Captain Ethan DiNinno; Paul Hamerski, Melissa Stewart, Charlotte Rutty; Ian McInerney; andCoach Shawn Guerrette.

Participating schools included Bangor High School; Cape Elizabeth High School; Casco Bay High School, Portland; Contoocook Valley Regional High School, Peterborough, N.H.; Falmouth High School; George Stevens Academy, Blue Hill; Greely High School, Cumberland; Maine School of Science and Mathematics, Limestone; Scarborough High School; South Portland High School; and Waynflete School, Portland.  

The team from Contoocook Valley Regional High Schoolin Peterborough, N.H., won the Larry Gray Award for civility.

The competition is styled in a game-show format similar to “Jeopardy” with students fielding questions on a range of subjects, including biology, chemistry, physics, astronomy, earth sciences and mathematics.  

The Northern New England Science Bowl is sponsored by USM, Texas Instruments Corporation and IDEXX. USM Professor of Environmental Science Rob Sanford and USM Associate Professor of Teacher Education Bob Kuech coordinate the annual event, along with some 55 volunteers.  

The Department of Energy launched its National Science Bowl and the associated regional competitions in 1991 to encourage highschool students to excel in science and math and to pursue careers in those fields.

To learn more about the U.S. Department of Energy National Science Bowl, visit: For more information about the Northern New England Science Bowl, contact USM Professor Rob Sanford at