College of Science, Technology, and Health

School of Nursing Director Krista Meinersmann Selected to Participate in Inaugural Class of the AACN-Wharton Executive Leadership Program

Krista Meinersmann, Director of the University of Southern Maine School of Nursing, has been chosen as 1 of 37 leaders in nursing education to participate in the inaugural class of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)-Wharton Executive Leadership Program. USM is the only northern New England program represented in the program which brings together nursing deans and senior faculty leaders from across the country.

“AACN is pleased to welcome our first class of nursing leaders who represent a broad, geographically diverse mix of educational programs, including large academic health centers, public and private institutions, and small specialized schools of nursing,” said AACN President Jane Kirschling. “Fortified with a new layer of leadership expertise, those completing the program will be well-prepared to make a lasting impact on how nurses are educated and how they practice.”

“Many of those participating are from larger schools with national recognition. I feel honored to have been selected,” adds Dr. Meinersmann, “Through participation in this program I hope to enhance my ability to lead the School of Nursing in a rapidly changing academic and health care environment.”

While Wharton and many other schools offer executive leadership programs, this partnership with AACN has produced an innovative program that is the first of its kind to focus exclusively on the needs of the leadership of nursing programs. The four-day program is designed to provide the concepts and tools needed to enhance leadership capacity and hone the skills that are essential to move forward strategically as an academic leader.

The complete list of participants in the inaugural class include:

• Lazelle Benefield, Dean, College of Nursing, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

• Audrey Berman, Dean, School of Nursing, Samuel Merritt University (CA)

• Devon Berry, Director of Innovations and Community Partnerships, Wright State University (OH)

• Lenora Campbell, Associate Dean, Winston Salem State University (NC)

• Ann Cary, Director, School of Nursing, Loyola University New Orleans (LA)

• Daisy Cruz-Richman, Dean, College of Nursing, SUNY Downstate Medical Center (NY)

• Debra Davis, Dean, College of Nursing, University of South Alabama

• Judy Didion, Dean, College of Nursing, Lourdes University (OH)

• Dorrie Fontaine, Dean, School of Nursing, University of Virginia

• Rita Frantz, Dean, College of Nursing, The University of Iowa

• Lorraine Frazier, Dean, College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

• Carla Gross, Department Chair, Nursing, North Dakota State University

• Phyllis S. Hansell, Dean, College of Nursing, Seton Hall University (NJ)

• Marcia Hern, Dean, School of Nursing, University of Louisville (KY)

• Karen Karlowicz, Chairperson, College of Health Sciences, Old Dominion University (VA)

• Judith F. Karshmer, Dean, School of Nursing and Health Professions, University of San Francisco (CA)

• Marsha Lewis, Dean, School of Nursing, University at Buffalo (NY)

Krista M. Meinersmann, Director, School of Nursing, University of Southern Maine

• Helen Melland, Dean, College of Nursing, Montana State University

• Pamela Mitchell, Interim Dean, School of Nursing, University of Washington

• Dianne Morrison-Beedy, Dean, College of Nursing, University of South Florida

• Nina Ouimette, Dean, Patty Hanks Shelton School of Nursing (TX)

• Demetrius James Porche, Dean, School of Nursing, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center

• Rosanne Pruitt, Director, School of Nursing, Clemson University (SC)

• Sharon Radzyminski, Chair, School of Nursing, Georgia Southern University

• Joanne Robinson, Dean, School of Nursing, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey-Camden

• Nena F. Sanders, Dean, School of Nursing, Samford University (AL)

• Kerri Schuiling, Dean, School of Nursing, Oakland University (MI)

• Juliann Sebastian, Dean, College of Nursing, University of Nebraska Medical Center

• Sandie Soldwisch, Dean, College of Nursing, Resurrection University (IL)

• Mary C. Sullivan, Interim Dean, College of Nursing, University of Rhode Island

• Beth Ann Swan, Dean, School of Nursing, Thomas Jefferson University (PA)

• Kristen M. Swanson, Dean, School of Nursing, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

• David Vlahov, Dean, School of Nursing, University of California San Francisco

• Pamela G. Watson, Dean, School of Nursing, University of Texas Medical Branch

• Susan Wilkinson, Department Head, Department of Nursing and Rehabilitation Sciences, Angelo State University (TX)

• Barbara Williams, Chairperson, Department of Nursing, University of Central Arkansas

 Ideally located in the southern end of the beautiful State of Maine, the University of Southern Maine (USM) School of Nursing boasts excellent faculty and programs, with unique and rich community partnerships. The School's faculty are committed to providing exemplary educational programs, scholarship, and community and professional service which is responsive to the needs of the citizens of Maine and in the global community. The USM School of Nursing is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).