Department of Economics

Financial Aid

USM has many ways to help students pay for their education. Learn more at http://usm.maine.edu/fin/overview.

For financial aid consideration, students must file a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) annually.

Visit https://fafsa.ed.gov/ for information about the three FAFSA filing options.

Be sure to include on your FAFSA USM’s Federal School Code: 009762

USM Financial Aid Contact Information:

  • Portland Financial Aid Office
    118 Payson Smith Hall 
    96 Falmouth Street 
    Portland, Maine 04104
    (207) 780-5250  or
    1-800-800-4USM
    TTY (207) 780-5646
    Fax (207) 780-5143
  • Gorham Financial Aid Office
    101 Bailey Hall
    37 College Avenue
    Gorham, Maine 04038
    (207) 780-5250  or
    1-800-800-4USM
    TTY (207) 780-5646
    Fax (207) 780-5143
  • Lewiston/Auburn Financial Aid Office
    Lewiston Auburn College 
    51 Westminster Street
    Lewiston, ME 04240
    (207) 753-6597
    (207) 753-6555

To contact your USM Financial Aid counselor directly, send an email message to the counselor listed below who is associated with the first letter of your last name:  

  • Serving students with the last name A
    Jami Jandreau, Associate Director
    jamilj@maine.edu

  • Serving students with the last name B
    Gayle Giroux, Assistant Director
    ggiro@maine.edu

  • Serving students with the last name C-F
    Valerie Clark, Financial Aid Counselor
    valerie.clark@maine.edu

  • Serving students with the last name G-I
    Cheryl Paluso, Assistant Director 
    cpaluso@maine.edu

  • Serving students with the last name J-L
    Sky Kwasnick, Assistant Director
    sky.kwasnick@maine.edu

  • Serving students with the last name M-P
    Nancy Varin, Financial Aid Counselor
    nvarin@maine.edu

  • Serving students with the last name Q-V
    Elizabeth Sarazin, Financial Aid Counselor 
    esarazin@maine.edu

  • Serving students with the last name W-Z
    Norma Catalano, Assistant Director
    catalano@maine.edu