Calendar

Public Events for Friday, March 29, 2013

29

USM Pride Day

USM Pride Day

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, September 14, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 21, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 28, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, October 5, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, October 12, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, October 19, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, October 26, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, November 2, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, November 9, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, November 16, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, November 23, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, November 30, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, December 7, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, December 14, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, December 21, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, December 28, 2012, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, January 4, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, January 11, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, January 18, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, January 25, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, February 1, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, February 8, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, February 15, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, February 22, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, March 1, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, March 8, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, March 15, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, March 22, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, March 29, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, April 5, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, April 12, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, April 19, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, April 26, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 3, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 10, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 17, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 24, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 31, 2013, 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Location: 
Throughout Campus-Portland, Gorham, LA
Contact Name: 
Office of the President
Contact Phone: 
207-780-4480
Contact Email: 
president@usm.maine.edu

Husky Logo

Show the pride you have for your school!

Wear your Blue and Gold!

Break out the Husky Gear!

Strut those USM shorts and tops!


Share in this fantastic new tradtion-just look around, everyone else is!

March 29, 2013
8:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Throughout Campus-Portland, Gorham, LA
29

5th Annual Reel Paddling Film Festival & Silent Auction

5th Annual Reel Paddling Film Festival & Silent Auction

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, March 29, 2013, 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Location: 
Abromson Center, 88 Bedford Street, USM Portland Campus
Contact Name: 
Maine Island Trail Association
Contact Phone: 
207-761-8225
Contact Email: 
info@mita.org

Film Reel
The Film Fest:
A great collection of films served to you at the ideal time of year. Late March we're aching for the sea and so what better way to spend a Friday evening than watching paddlers amidst beautifully filmed landscapes?! Hope you'll join us.

The Silent Auction: A great collection of auction items ranging from Kokotat PFDs, Lendal paddles, Weekend Getaways, local Maine art and MUCH MORE! Come early, bid early (and often). Our silent auction is one of MITA's largest fundraisers and to make the experience all the better a cash bar and light refreshments are available!

Tickets: $12 advance, $15 door, $10 studentTickets will be available from the MITA website: www.mita.org

March 29, 2013
6:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Abromson Center, 88 Bedford Street, USM Portland Campus
One of Maine Island Trail Association's favorite fundraising events of the year! Bid on the silent auction and enjoy a great collection of films with paddlers amidst beautifully filmed landscapes. A cash bar and light refreshments are available!
29

IBEX FULL DOME SHOW

IBEX FULL DOME SHOW

Event Date and Time: 
Sunday, March 18, 2012, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, September 7, 2012, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 14, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, September 21, 2012, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 28, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, October 5, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, October 19, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, November 2, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, November 16, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, January 11, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, September 30, 2012, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, February 1, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Tuesday, February 19, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, March 15, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, March 8, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, March 29, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, April 5, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Thursday, April 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, May 10, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, May 17, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, May 26, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, May 31, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, April 28, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Location: 
Southworth Planetarium
Contact Name: 
Edward Gleason
Contact Phone: 
207-780-4249
Contact Email: 
egleason@usm.maine.edu


IBEX: The Search for the Edge of the Solar System

An omni-dome (full dome) presentation about the IBEX (Interstellar Boundary Explorer) probe.      Launched in 2008, the IBEX craft collects energized neutral particles emitted from the heliosphere: the "bubble" enclosing the solar system.   These collections enable the IBEX probe to construct an image of the membrane surrounding us.  The same membrane that protects the solar system from harmful galactic particles.

How does the IBEX probe work?    How does it communicate with Earth?

Join us for this fascinating full-dome show about the IBEX probe and its bold mission to explore the solar system's final frontier. 

Show duration:  31 minutes

(Note: show presentation includes a night sky tour, so the entire program is approximately 45 minutes.)

For more information about this probe, visit http://ibex.swri.edu/

March 29, 2013
7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Southworth Planetarium
The InterSteller Boundary Explorer collects ENAs (Energized Neutral Particles) emitted from the heliosphere, the "bubble" enclosing the solar system. By collecting theses particles, the IBEX probe constructs an image of this heliosphere. Explore the outer solar system with IBEX!
29

Evangelical Christian Devotional Meeting

Evangelical Christian Devotional Meeting

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, March 1, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, March 8, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, March 15, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, March 22, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, March 29, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, April 5, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, April 12, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, April 19, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, April 26, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, May 3, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Friday, May 10, 2013, 7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Location: 
Lee Hall, Wishcamper Center, Portland
Contact Name: 
Steve Lafrance
Contact Phone: 
786-925-0075
Contact Email: 
stevelafrance@ymail.com

A Friday night devotional meeting in the Evangelical Christian tradition is sponsored by the Alpha Omega Christian student organization.  Alpha Omega is affiliated with Casco Bay Church of Christ, a congregation on the International Church of Christ (ICOC).

March 29, 2013
7:30 PM to 8:45 PM
Lee Hall, Wishcamper Center, Portland
Devotional meetings are sponsored by Alpha Omega student organization, affiliated with Casco Bay Church of Christ, a congregation of the International Church of Christ (ICOC).
29

TWO SMALL PIECES OF GLASS

TWO SMALL PIECES OF GLASS

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, March 23, 2012, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 25, 2012, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, April 5, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Thursday, February 21, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, March 1, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Saturday, March 9, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, March 17, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, March 22, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, March 29, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, March 31, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, April 7, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Tuesday, April 16, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 26, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 3, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, May 4, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, May 12, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, May 17, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 24, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, May 31, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Location: 
Southworth Planetarium
Contact Name: 
Edward Gleason
Contact Phone: 
207-780-4249
Contact Email: 
egleason@usm.maine.edu

Children near a telescope at a star party

TWO SMALL PIECES OF GLASS: The Amazing Telescope

A fantastic full-dome show about the history and science of telescopes.   Who invented the telescope?  How have astronomers employed these astounding instruments to unravel the Universe's deepest secrets? 

Hubble Space Telescope

"Two Small Pieces of Glass" follows two young people who attend a star party and learn how telescopes work while they observe many wondrous objects within the cosmos.

Join us for this full dome celebration of the telescope!

Admission:   $5.50 - adults;   $5.00 - children

March 29, 2013
8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Southworth Planetarium
A full dome show about the history and science of telescopes.
Add to My Calendar

Public Events

«  
  »
S M T W T F S
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31