Calendar

Public Events for Wednesday, September 25, 2013

25

Gorham GIS Clinic

Gorham GIS Clinic

Event Date and Time: 
Wednesday, February 1, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, February 8, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, February 15, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, February 29, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 7, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 14, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 21, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 4, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 11, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 18, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 25, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, May 2, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, September 5, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, September 12, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, September 19, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, September 26, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 3, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 10, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 17, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 24, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 31, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, November 7, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, November 14, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, November 28, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, December 5, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, December 12, 2012, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, January 23, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, January 30, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, February 6, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, February 13, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, February 27, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 6, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 13, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 20, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 3, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 10, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 17, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 24, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, May 1, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, May 8, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, September 11, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, September 18, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, September 25, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 2, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 9, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 16, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 23, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, October 30, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, November 6, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, November 13, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, November 20, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, November 27, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, December 4, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, December 11, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, December 18, 2013, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, January 22, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, January 29, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, February 5, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, February 12, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, February 26, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 5, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 12, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 19, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, March 26, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 9, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 16, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 23, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, April 30, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Wednesday, May 7, 2014, 9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Location: 
302 Bailey Hall
Contact Name: 
Thea Youngs
Contact Phone: 
207-780-5063
Contact Email: 
tyoungs@usm.maine.edu

Open to the public. Bring your GIS questions, problems, or just stop by to chat with the GIS faculty and staff.

September 25, 2013
9:00 AM to 11:30 AM
302 Bailey Hall
Open to the public. Bring your Geographic Information Systems questions, problems, or just stop by to chat with the GIS faculty and staff.
25

Dinosaurs at Dusk!

Dinosaurs at Dusk!

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, September 6, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, September 7, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, September 8, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, September 9, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, September 11, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, September 13, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, September 15, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, September 16, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, September 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, September 20, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 13, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, September 22, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, September 25, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, September 27, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 27, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, September 29, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, September 6, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, September 20, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, September 30, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, October 2, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 4, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, October 6, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, October 7, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 11, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, October 13, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, October 16, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 18, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, October 19, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, October 21, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, October 28, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, October 30, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 1, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, November 2, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, November 4, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 8, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, November 13, 2013, 1:00 PM
Friday, November 15, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, November 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 22, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, November 23, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, November 25, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, October 14, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, December 4, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, December 6, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, December 11, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, December 13, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, December 23, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, December 26, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Sunday, December 29, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, December 30, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, December 2, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, January 10, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, January 12, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, January 15, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, January 18, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, January 24, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, January 29, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, January 31, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, January 20, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, December 14, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, December 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, December 21, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, February 5, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, February 7, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, February 9, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, February 17, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, February 19, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, February 21, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, February 26, 2014, 1:30 PM to 2:30 PM
Friday, February 28, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 2, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, March 5, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, March 10, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, March 14, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 16, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, March 19, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, March 24, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 4, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, April 7, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 11, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 13, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, April 21, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, April 23, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 25, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, April 28, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: 
Southworth Planetarium
Contact Name: 
Edward Gleason
Contact Phone: 
207-780-4249
Contact Email: 
egleason@usm.maine.edu

 DINOSAURS AT DUSK!

more dinosaurs

 

A whirlwind time travel adventure back to the epoch of the dinosaurs!

 

We have to tell you that we've been waiting aeons to announce that we have a full dome, computer animated dinosaurs show! A larger than life extravaganza rife with roaring monsters from the ancient age: bounding, stomping, flying, hunting, and foraging frenetically above us.

 

Well, by heavens, now we can tell the world that the dinosaurs have arrived at the Southworth Planetarium! (Or, to get the verb tense right, they WILL arrive on September 6, 2013.)

 

Dinosaurs!

 

Propel yourself back through the epochs toexplore an Earth teeming with Pteradons, Triceratrops and, of course, the ferocious -and therefore wonderfully marketable- T-Rex!

 

Sir Richard Owen*

 

And, if we can say so, this is NOT your great great great grandfather's dinosaur show with slides and lethargic Sunday afternoon nature special narration. Instead, we're embarking on a causality violating adventure through time to discover a planet dominated by the largest land animals that ever set claw to topsoil.

 

Dinosaurs

 

This September, come back to the Southworth Planetarium and then venture back to the Mesozoic era for a personal odyssey through the realm of the dinosaurs.

 

Matinee and evening shows!

September 25, 2013
1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Southworth Planetarium
A brand new full dome computer animated show featuring a vast array of larger than life dinosaurs! A father and daughter travel through time to the epoch of the dinosaurs and learn the origins of flight.
25

Inaugural Celebration: Confucius Institute

Inaugural Celebration: Confucius Institute

Event Date and Time: 
Wednesday, September 25, 2013, 4:00 PM to 5:30 PM
Location: 
10 Bailey Hall, USM Gorham Campus
Contact Name: 
Confucius Institute
Contact Email: 
confucius@usm.maine.edu

Mark your calendar for the opening ceremony of the Confucius Institute at the University of Southern Maine!

Housed on the USM Gorham campus, the Confucius Institute – the first in the state of Maine – brings Chinese language and culture to the state’s students, educators, and community members.

Learn more about our plans for the Confucius Institute and meet public officials from China, as well as administration and faculty from our partner institution, Dongbei University of Finance and Economics.


Inaugural Ceremony

4:00 – 5:30 p.m.
10 Bailey Hall

Reception and Open House
5:30 – 6:30 p.m.
301 Bailey Hall

 

 


DIrections to Bailey Hall: http://www.usm.maine.edu/about/directions-gorham-campus

September 25, 2013
4:00 PM to 5:30 PM
10 Bailey Hall, USM Gorham Campus
Join USM for a celebration of the new Confucius Institute at the University of Southern Maine, including a Chinese dance performance, art exhibit, and ceremonial tree planting.
25

An Evening with Lois Lowry

An Evening with Lois Lowry

Event Date and Time: 
Wednesday, September 25, 2013, 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM
Location: 
USM Abromson Community Education Center, 88 Bedford Street, Portland Campus

An Evening with Lois Lowry

Lois Lowry

Join The Telling Room, September 25th, to welcome one of America’s most beloved writers, Lois Lowry, back to Maine. Known for her versatility and invention as a writer, she is the author of more than forty books for young adults. She will speak about story craft, discuss her return to Maine after years living elsewhere, read from her work, and answer questions from the audience.

A USM graduate and author of the popular Anastasia Krupnik series, Lowry received Newbery Medals for two of her novels, Number the Stars and The Giver, and her first novel, A Summer to Die, was awarded the International Reading Association’s Children’s Book Award.

Tickets available at tellingroom.org


Breakwater logoMWPA Logo     Telling room logo

Portland Education Foundation logo             Longfellow Books LogoUSM Logo 

September 25, 2013
7:00 PM to 9:00 PM
USM Abromson Community Education Center, 88 Bedford Street, Portland Campus
Join The Telling Room and spend An Evening with Lois Lowry, September 25th. Welcome one of America’s most beloved writers back to Maine. Known for her versatility and invention as a writer, Lois Lowry is the author of more than forty books for young adults.
Add to My Calendar

Public Events

S M T W T F S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30