Calendar

Public Events for Friday, September 27, 2013

27

Future Horizons Inc. Conference

Future Horizons Inc. Conference

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, September 27, 2013, 7:00 AM to 4:30 PM
Location: 
Abromson Center, USM Portland Campus

Future Horizons Inc.

Future Horizons Inc. Conference

The world’s leading site for Autism, Asperger’s, and Sensory resources.

Join us at the Abromson Center, USM Portland Campus for one of our inspirational conferences!

Learn more.

Register online or by called 800-489-0727 M-F 9am to 5pm CST.

Presentations include:

Dr. Temple Grandin



"THE WAY I SEE IT"
Dr. Temple Grandin



Jennifer Mcllwee Myers



"GROWING UP WITH SENSORY ISSUES"
Jennifer McIIwee Myers

 

 

Dr. Ball

 

"BEHAVIORAL INTERVENTION FOR YOUNG LEARNERS"
Dr. Jim Ball



Learn more. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

September 27, 2013
7:00 AM to 4:30 PM
Abromson Center, USM Portland Campus
World’s leading site for Autism, Asperger’s, and Sensory resources. Join us at the Abromson Center, USM Portland Campus for one of our inspirational conferences!
27

Panel Discussion: Tourism and the Protection of Water, Fisheries & Coastlines from Maine to Mexico

Panel Discussion: Tourism and the Protection of Water, Fisheries & Coastlines from Maine to Mexico

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, September 27, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:30 PM
Location: 
USM Portland Campus, Wishcamper Center, Lee Community Hall
Contact Name: 
Kreg Ettenger
Contact Phone: 
207-780-5322
Contact Email: 
ettenger@usm.maine.edu

Join the Program in Tourism and Hospitality for a panel discussion in recognition of World Tourism Day 2013 and the theme of “Tourism & Water: Protecting Our Common Future.” Panelists include:

  • Dr. H. Bruce Rinker, Biodiversity Research Institute, Impacts of Marine Plastics on Tourist Areas in the Mexican Caribbean
  • Rauni Kew, Inn by the Sea, Water & Sustainable Seafood at Inn by the Sea & the Sea Glass Restaurant
  • Jen Levin, Gulf of Maine Research Institute, The ‘Out of the Blue’ Sustainable Seafood Project
  • Peter Cooke, Manomet Maine, Water in Maine’s Lodging & Restaurant Industries

The panel discussion will be moderated by Kreg Ettenger, chair of the Program in Tourism and Hospitality. World Tourism Day is an event of the United Nations World Tourism Organization.

Free and open to the public

For more information, contact Kreg Ettenger at ettenger@usm.maine.edu or 207-780-5322.

September 27, 2013
1:00 PM to 2:30 PM
USM Portland Campus, Wishcamper Center, Lee Community Hall
Join the Program in Tourism and Hospitality for a panel discussion in recognition of World Tourism Day 2013 and the theme of “Tourism & Water: Protecting Our Common Future.”
27

Dinosaurs at Dusk!

Dinosaurs at Dusk!

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, September 6, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, September 7, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, September 8, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, September 9, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, September 11, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, September 13, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, September 15, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, September 16, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, September 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, September 20, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 13, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, September 22, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, September 25, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, September 27, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 27, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, September 29, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, September 6, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, September 20, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, September 30, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, October 2, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 4, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, October 6, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, October 7, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 11, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, October 13, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, October 16, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 18, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, October 19, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, October 21, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, October 28, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, October 30, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 1, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, November 2, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, November 4, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 8, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, November 13, 2013, 1:00 PM
Friday, November 15, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, November 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 22, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, November 23, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, November 25, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, October 14, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, December 4, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, December 6, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, December 11, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, December 13, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, December 23, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, December 26, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Sunday, December 29, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, December 30, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, December 2, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, January 10, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, January 12, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, January 15, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, January 18, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, January 24, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, January 29, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, January 31, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, January 20, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, December 14, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, December 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, December 21, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, February 5, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, February 7, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, February 9, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, February 17, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, February 19, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, February 21, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, February 26, 2014, 1:30 PM to 2:30 PM
Friday, February 28, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 2, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, March 5, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, March 10, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, March 14, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 16, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, March 19, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, March 24, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 4, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, April 7, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 11, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 13, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, April 21, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, April 23, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 25, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, April 28, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: 
Southworth Planetarium
Contact Name: 
Edward Gleason
Contact Phone: 
207-780-4249
Contact Email: 
egleason@usm.maine.edu

 DINOSAURS AT DUSK!

more dinosaurs

 

A whirlwind time travel adventure back to the epoch of the dinosaurs!

 

We have to tell you that we've been waiting aeons to announce that we have a full dome, computer animated dinosaurs show! A larger than life extravaganza rife with roaring monsters from the ancient age: bounding, stomping, flying, hunting, and foraging frenetically above us.

 

Well, by heavens, now we can tell the world that the dinosaurs have arrived at the Southworth Planetarium! (Or, to get the verb tense right, they WILL arrive on September 6, 2013.)

 

Dinosaurs!

 

Propel yourself back through the epochs toexplore an Earth teeming with Pteradons, Triceratrops and, of course, the ferocious -and therefore wonderfully marketable- T-Rex!

 

Sir Richard Owen*

 

And, if we can say so, this is NOT your great great great grandfather's dinosaur show with slides and lethargic Sunday afternoon nature special narration. Instead, we're embarking on a causality violating adventure through time to discover a planet dominated by the largest land animals that ever set claw to topsoil.

 

Dinosaurs

 

This September, come back to the Southworth Planetarium and then venture back to the Mesozoic era for a personal odyssey through the realm of the dinosaurs.

 

Matinee and evening shows!

September 27, 2013
7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Southworth Planetarium
A brand new full dome computer animated show featuring a vast array of larger than life dinosaurs! A father and daughter travel through time to the epoch of the dinosaurs and learn the origins of flight.
27

Dinosaurs at Dusk!

Dinosaurs at Dusk!

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, September 6, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, September 7, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, September 8, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, September 9, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, September 11, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, September 13, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, September 15, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, September 16, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, September 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, September 20, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 13, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, September 22, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, September 25, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, September 27, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, September 27, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, September 29, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, September 6, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, September 20, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, September 30, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, October 2, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 4, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, October 6, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, October 7, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 11, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, October 13, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, October 16, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 18, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, October 19, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, October 21, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, October 28, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, October 30, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 1, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, November 2, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, November 4, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 8, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, November 13, 2013, 1:00 PM
Friday, November 15, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, November 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 22, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, November 23, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, November 25, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, October 14, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, December 4, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, December 6, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, December 11, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, December 13, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, December 23, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, December 26, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Sunday, December 29, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, December 30, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, December 2, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, January 10, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, January 12, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, January 15, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, January 18, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, January 24, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, January 29, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, January 31, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, January 20, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, December 14, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, December 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Saturday, December 21, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, February 5, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, February 7, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, February 9, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, February 17, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, February 19, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, February 21, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, February 26, 2014, 1:30 PM to 2:30 PM
Friday, February 28, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 2, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, March 5, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, March 10, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, March 14, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 16, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday, March 19, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, March 24, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 4, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, April 7, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 11, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, April 13, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, April 21, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, April 23, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 25, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, April 28, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: 
Southworth Planetarium
Contact Name: 
Edward Gleason
Contact Phone: 
207-780-4249
Contact Email: 
egleason@usm.maine.edu

 DINOSAURS AT DUSK!

more dinosaurs

 

A whirlwind time travel adventure back to the epoch of the dinosaurs!

 

We have to tell you that we've been waiting aeons to announce that we have a full dome, computer animated dinosaurs show! A larger than life extravaganza rife with roaring monsters from the ancient age: bounding, stomping, flying, hunting, and foraging frenetically above us.

 

Well, by heavens, now we can tell the world that the dinosaurs have arrived at the Southworth Planetarium! (Or, to get the verb tense right, they WILL arrive on September 6, 2013.)

 

Dinosaurs!

 

Propel yourself back through the epochs toexplore an Earth teeming with Pteradons, Triceratrops and, of course, the ferocious -and therefore wonderfully marketable- T-Rex!

 

Sir Richard Owen*

 

And, if we can say so, this is NOT your great great great grandfather's dinosaur show with slides and lethargic Sunday afternoon nature special narration. Instead, we're embarking on a causality violating adventure through time to discover a planet dominated by the largest land animals that ever set claw to topsoil.

 

Dinosaurs

 

This September, come back to the Southworth Planetarium and then venture back to the Mesozoic era for a personal odyssey through the realm of the dinosaurs.

 

Matinee and evening shows!

September 27, 2013
8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Southworth Planetarium
A brand new full dome computer animated show featuring a vast array of larger than life dinosaurs! A father and daughter travel through time to the epoch of the dinosaurs and learn the origins of flight.
Add to My Calendar

Public Events

S M T W T F S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30