Franco-American Collection

Franco-American History Fair 2014

Event Date and Time: 
Saturday, June 21, 2014, 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM

 St Jean Baptiste Day Parade, Lewiston, 1897

Image: St Jean Baptiste Day Parade, Lewiston, 1897

Join the Franco-American Collection Saturday June 21 for a Maine first – a Franco-American History Fair.  The event, which runs from 9am – 12 Noon, will feature exhibits from Maine historical societies, libraries, museums and genealogical groups with a Franco-American connection.  Visitors will have the opportunity to visit exhibitors’ booths, to explore the diversity of the Franco-American experience in Maine, and ask questions of the experts.   The Collection and other participants will also have items for sale.

A museum conservation professional and an appraiser will be on-hand, so bring your family treasures along to be identified or valued, and learn the best way to preserve them for the future.

The event will also be an opportunity to explore the Collection, which will be open to the public for tours.   Throughout the course of the morning, short presentations will be offered on historic topics, at no additional cost.

Confirmed exhibitors include: the Lewiston Public Library, the McArthur Public Library, Biddeford, the Maine Franco-American Genealogical Society, the Franco-American Women’s Institute, the Biddeford Mills Museum, the Castine Historical Society, and the Pejepscot Historical Society, Brunswick.  Several others will be expected to join us.

The event is free to attend, and no registration is necessary.  Refreshments will be provided.  The fair will take place in room 170 of USM’s Lewiston-Auburn College at 51 Westminster Street, Lewiston.

For more information, contact the Collection.

Location: 
USM, Lewiston-Auburn College, Room 170
Contact Name: 
James Myall
Contact Phone: 
207-753-6545
Contact Email: 
franco@usm.maine.edu

July Hours

The Collection will be open the first three weeks of July on Tues., Wed., and Thurs. from 10 until 4.  It will be closed for vacation the last week of July.  The Collection will re-open on August 1 with its regular Mon.-Thurs. schedule.

Call 207-753-6545 or email janet.roberts@maine.edu if you wish to arrange some other time to visit.

Connect With Us