Master of Public Health (MPH) Advisory Committee

The MPH Advisory Committee provides diverse perspectives, advice, and input to the Graduate Program in Public Health on its direction, priorities, and opportunities, and its membership represents a variety of sectors, including governmental public health agencies (state, district, local), health service organizations, professional associations, and alumni.

Graduate Program in Public Health Advisory Committee Members

Kolawole Bankole, MS, MBA, MD, Family Health Program Manager, City of Portland

Nancy Birkhimer, MPH, Director, Public Health Performance Improvement,Maine Center for Disease Control & Prevention

Jerry  Cayer, MPH, Executive Vice President, Franklin Community Health Network

Mary Lou Ciolfi, JD, MS, Senior Policy Analyst, Muskie School of Public Service

Eliza Eager, Student Representative, Muskie School of Public Service, USM

Paul K. J. Han, MD, MPH, MA, Director, Center for Outcomes Research and Evaluation, Maine Medical Center

Peggy Haynes, Director Partnership for Healthy Aging and Elder Care Services, MaineHealth

Steve Johndro, MPH, Executive Director, Health Androscoggin

Laurie Kane-Lewis, CMPE, Chief Executive Officer, DFD Russell Medical Centers

Becca Matusovich, MPPM, Policy Associate, Muskie School of Public Service

Doug Michael, MPH, Chief Community Health & Grants Officer, Eastern Maine Health System

Julie Osgood, MS, Senior Director, Operations, MaineHealth

Bill Primmerman, Somerset Public Health Project Director, Redington Fairview General Hospital

Randy H. Schwartz, MSPH, Senior Vice President, Health Systems – Cancer Control, American Cancer Society - New England Division

Stephen D. Sears, MD, MPH, Chief of Staff, Veterans Affairs Maine Healthcare System

Malory Shaughnessy, MPPM, Outreach, Education & Social Media Specialist, Community Health Options

Eileen Skinner, MHA, FACHE, President & Chief Executive Officer, Mercy Health Systems of Maine

Becky Smith, Government Relations Director, Maine American Heart Association

Toho Soma, MPH, Acting Public Health Division Director, Health Equity and Research Program Manager, Portland Public Health Division

Tania D. Strout, RN, MS, PhD, Director of Research, Assistant Professor, Maine Medical Center

Shawn Yardley, MS, Consultant, Food and Medicine

New Publications

What's New?

Ciolfi, M. L., Griffin, E., Pratt, J., Richards, M., Gildard, S., & Byrne, B. (2016). Living with a brain injury in Maine: Individual experiences, perceptions, and need.  Portland, ME: University of Southern Maine, Muskie School of Public Service.

Lenardson, J. D., Gale, J. A., & Ziller, E. C. (2016). Rural opioid abuse: Prevalence and user characteristics. (PB 63-1). Portland, ME: University of Southern Maine, Muskie School of Public Service, Maine Rural Health Research Center.

Snow, K. I., Gressani, T., Olsen, L., McGuire, C., Bratesman, S., Mauney, K., & Theriault, J. (2016). Adults using long term services and supports: Population and service use trends in Maine, SFY 2014. (Chartbook). Portland, ME: University of Southern Maine, Muskie School of Public Service.

Talbot, J. A., Ziller, E. C., & Szlocek, D. (2016). Mental health first aid in rural communities: Appropriateness and outcomes. Journal of Rural Health. doi: 10.1111/jrh.12173.

Connect With Us