Planetarium

Calendar

Friday, March 1, 2013

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
 
 
 
 
 
EIGHT PLANETS OMNI DOME SHOW

EIGHT PLANETS OMNI DOME SHOW

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, October 5, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, October 12, 2012, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, October 19, 2012, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, November 2, 2012, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, November 9, 2012, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, November 16, 2012, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, November 30, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, December 7, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, December 14, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, January 4, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, December 21, 2012, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Thursday, December 27, 2012, 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Sunday, January 6, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, January 11, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, January 18, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, January 19, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, January 25, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, February 1, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, April 5, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, February 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, February 20, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, February 22, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, March 1, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 3, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, March 8, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, March 15, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, March 22, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, March 24, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, April 5, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, April 15, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Tuesday, April 16, 2013, 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Wednesday, April 17, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, April 18, 2013, 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Friday, April 19, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 26, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, May 3, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, May 10, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, May 19, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, May 24, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, June 7, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, June 14, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, June 28, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, June 29, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, June 30, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, July 1, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Tuesday, July 2, 2013, 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Monday, July 8, 2013, 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Tuesday, July 9, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Wednesday, July 10, 2013, 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Thursday, July 11, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, July 15, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, July 18, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, July 25, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, August 1, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, August 2, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, August 5, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, August 8, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, August 9, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, August 12, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, August 15, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, August 19, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, September 23, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 4, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Wednesday, October 9, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, October 18, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Wednesday, October 23, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 1, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Wednesday, November 20, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, November 22, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, December 6, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, December 16, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, December 27, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, January 17, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, January 24, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, January 27, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, January 31, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, February 2, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, February 10, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Tuesday, February 18, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, February 20, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, February 28, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, March 3, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, March 7, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, March 9, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Monday, March 17, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, March 21, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Saturday, March 29, 2014, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, April 4, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Wednesday, April 9, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Tuesday, April 22, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, April 24, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: 
Southworth Planetarium
Contact Name: 
Edward Gleason
Contact Phone: 
207-780-4249
Contact Email: 
egleason@usm.maine.edu

Solar System

"EIGHT PLANETS AND COUNTING" OMNI DOME SHOW!

We're offering an updated version of the "Eight Planets and Counting" program!     Humanity's knowledge of the solar system has changed dramatically within the last few years.    As we know the International Astronomical Union has demoted Pluto, but astronomers have also found an array of other bodies, called "Trans-Neptunian Objects."  

The omni-dome "Eight Planets and Counting" program guides you through the solar system: from our parent star, the Sun, out to the realm beyond Neptune.   Along the way, we'll visit each of the eight planets in turn, we'll explore the Moon, and we'll fly through the asteroid belt. 

Join us for this fantastic full dome odyssey through the solar system!

7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
 
TWO SMALL PIECES OF GLASS

TWO SMALL PIECES OF GLASS

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, March 23, 2012, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 25, 2012, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, April 5, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Thursday, February 21, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, March 1, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Saturday, March 9, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, March 17, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, March 22, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, March 29, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Sunday, March 31, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, April 7, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Tuesday, April 16, 2013, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, April 26, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 3, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Saturday, May 4, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Sunday, May 12, 2013, 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
Friday, May 17, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 24, 2013, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, May 31, 2013, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Location: 
Southworth Planetarium
Contact Name: 
Edward Gleason
Contact Phone: 
207-780-4249
Contact Email: 
egleason@usm.maine.edu

Children near a telescope at a star party

TWO SMALL PIECES OF GLASS: The Amazing Telescope

A fantastic full-dome show about the history and science of telescopes.   Who invented the telescope?  How have astronomers employed these astounding instruments to unravel the Universe's deepest secrets? 

Hubble Space Telescope

"Two Small Pieces of Glass" follows two young people who attend a star party and learn how telescopes work while they observe many wondrous objects within the cosmos.

Join us for this full dome celebration of the telescope!

Admission:   $5.50 - adults;   $5.00 - children

8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
 
 
Add to My Calendar

About Us

What can you do at the Southworth Planetarium?  See a showenroll in a classattend a lecture, buy fascinating science toys, explore our exhibit area, learn the night sky.

We are open throughout the week. Not only do we have public shows, but we offer private shows to school groups, scout troops, birthday parties, business organizations, and more.

Like the Universe, itself, the more you explore the planetarium, the more you'll discover!  

Connect With Us