Planetarium

IBEX FULL DOME SHOW

Event Date and Time: 
Friday, May 9, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Friday, May 23, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday, May 28, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, June 6, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Monday, July 14, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Friday, July 18, 2014, 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Monday, July 21, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Monday, July 28, 2014, 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Thursday, August 7, 2014, 1:00 PM
Thursday, August 14, 2014, 1:00 PM
Thursday, August 21, 2014, 1:00 PM
Tuesday, August 26, 2014, 1:00 PM
Friday, September 5, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, September 19, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, October 3, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, October 17, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Friday, November 7, 2014, 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM
Location: 
Southworth Planetarium
Contact Name: 
Edward Gleason
Contact Phone: 
207-780-4249


IBEX: The Search for the Edge of the Solar System

An omni-dome (full dome) presentation about the IBEX (Interstellar Boundary Explorer) probe.      Launched in 2008, the IBEX craft collects energized neutral particles emitted from the heliosphere: the "bubble" enclosing the solar system.   These collections enable the IBEX probe to construct an image of the membrane surrounding us.  The same membrane that protects the solar system from harmful galactic particles.

How does the IBEX probe work?    How does it communicate with Earth?

Join us for this fascinating full-dome show about the IBEX probe and its bold mission to explore the solar system's final frontier. 

Show duration:  31 minutes

(Note: show presentation includes a night sky tour, so the entire program is approximately 45 minutes.)

For more information about this probe, visit http://ibex.swri.edu/

About Us

What can you do at the Southworth Planetarium?  See a showenroll in a classattend a lecture, buy fascinating science toys, explore our exhibit area, learn the night sky.

We are open throughout the week. Not only do we have public shows, but we offer private shows to school groups, scout troops, birthday parties, business organizations, and more.

Like the Universe, itself, the more you explore the planetarium, the more you'll discover!  

Connect With Us