Office of the Provost

USM Distinguished Professor

The title "USM Distinguished Professor" is among the highest honors accorded Tenured full professors at the University of Southern Maine.

The Distinguished Professors are listed below with the year they were bestowed this honor:

Dr. Mark Lapping, Distinguished Professor of Public Policy and Management, 2004

Dr. Joseph Conforti, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of American and New England Studies, 2007

Rose Marasco, MFA, Distinguished Professor of Art, 2010

Dr. Kathleen Ashley, Distinguished Professor of English, 2011

Dr. Robert Louden, Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, 2012

Please visit the links below for more information.

USM Distinguished Professor Selection and Criteria

Provost Jeannine Diddle Uzzi

Welcome to the Office of the Provost, where USM's diverse academic endeavors come together.  In the Provost's Office students will find information about USM's four colleges, its many excellent courses and degree programs--including international study, online learning, and internships--and its complete course catalog.  Faculty will find information about tenure and promotion, scholarship, creative activity, and faculty development, as well as Faculty Database.  Click the following links to explore the many aspects of USM life that converge in the Provost's Office, and please email us at!  

Connect With Us