Faculty Scholarship & Creative Activity

Scholarship and creative work is the intellectual foundation of any academic institution. Faculty at the University of Southern Maine are involved in significant scholarship and creative activity in many ways – through publications in professional and scholarly journals, presentation of papers, review of books and other materials, serving as experts on panels, conference presentations, exhibits, or public readings.

Research Scholarship and Creative Activity Programs

The USM Center for Collaboration and Development sponsors many activities related to scholarship and creative activity, especially those aimed at promoting interdisciplinary and collaboration. These programs, whether scholarly presentations and posters, discussions, exhibits, performances, or book/ poetry readings enable faculty and students to share in intellectual discourse, contribute to the “life of the mind”, and build a community of learners.

Faculty and Staff - Don't miss this exciting opportunity for funding for research, scholarship, and creative activity! You can find more information about the call for proposals @


Provost’s Research Fellowship

A call for nominations for the Provost’s Research Fellowship will be announced in fall 2015.

This fellowship provides a one-course release for both fall and spring semesters to a tenured faculty member to allow her/him to concentrate on research, scholarship, or creative work. Selection of the award recipient is based on demonstrably outstanding accomplishment and potential for continued excellence in research, scholarship, or creative activity.

To be selected as the Research Fellow is an appointment of distinction. The process of seeking the appointment is competitive and will provide the Research Fellow both recognition and an excellent opportunity to pursue compelling research, scholarship, or creative activity.

Previous recipients of this award are:

  • Dr. Vincent E. Collom, Sociology Department, 2010-2011
  • Ms. Rose Marasco, M.F., Art Department, 2011-2012
  • Dr. Piers Beirne, Criminology Department, 2012-2013
  • Dr. Daniel Sonenberg, School of Music, 2013-2014
  • Dr. Bruce Thompson, Psychology Department, 2014-2015

Please check the Provost’s web page for upcoming information about the application deadline, award determination, and fellowship award announcements.