Department of Theatre

USM Theatre 2014-2015 Season

All performances take place on the Main Stage of Russell Hall, USM Gorham campus, with the exception of An Evening with Christopher Durang, which takes place in The Studio Theater at Portland Stage.

Click here to purchase your 2014-2015 season Flex Pass or single tickets.

Click here to read the season announcement.

USM Theatre The Well of Horniness

A comedic radio show by Holly Hughes
Directed by Meghan Brodie

September 25-28, 2014
Thursday, Sept. 25 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Sept. 26 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Sept. 27 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 28 at 5 p.m.

What's a dame to do when the dame she did turns up dead? 

It's the naughty side of noir. "Reformed" lesbian Vicki has forsaken the sorority of sin, Tridelta Tribades, only to be plunged into monogamous monotony with her shag-carpet-pedaling, soon-to-be-husband Rod, whose sister, Georgette, happens to be a tried-and-true member of the Tribades. After a brief encounter between the two women, a shot rings out and a panicked Vicki scrams. So who is the femme fatale? Could it be Vicki? The hatcheck girl with a grudge? Detective Garnet McClit is on the case in this staged reading of Holly Hughes' farcical radio play.
Includes mature subject matter. 

USM Theatre Bus StopA comedic drama by William Inge 
Directed by Thomas Power

October 31-November 9, 2014
Friday, Oct. 31 at 7:30 p.m. 
Saturday, Nov. 1 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 2 at 5 p.m. 
Tuesday, Nov. 4 at 10 a.m.; high school matinee
Wednesday, Nov. 5 at 5 p.m.; “$5 at 5” performance
Thursday, Nov. 6 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Nov. 7 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 8 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 9 at 5 p.m.

Eight snowbound strangers get a serving of love and loneliness, with a warm side of laughter.

Love, longing and loneliness are the desperations du jour when strangers are stranded in a Midwest diner by a snowstorm. Cherie, an aspiring nightclub singer, has been waylaid onto a cross-country escapade by her one-night-stand, Bo, a brazen cowboy who is intent on homesteading with his beloved. While the seasoned bus driver and lonesome diner owner take advantage of the close quarters, the charming, multiple-divorced professor recites romantic poetry -- between drinks -- to the countrified teenaged waitress. Lifelong triumphs and failures are confronted, and destiny forecasts who will end up together or ultimately alone.  

USM Theatre Dance USM

An original performance  
Directed by Maria A. Tzianabos

December 4-7, 2014
Thursday, Dec. 4 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 5 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 7 at 5 p.m.

Featuring original works by USM students, faculty and guest-choreographers. 

Dance USM! features original works by USM students, faculty and guest-choreographers in a variety of genres - hip hop, ballet, contemporary, jazz, musical theatre and more. Join us for this bi-annual celebration of movement and music as students leap, spin, crank and two-step in a dynamic showcase of talent and skill.

USM Theatre An Evening with Christopher Durang For Whom the Southern Belle Tolls Sister Mary Ignatius Explains it All

One-act comedies by Christopher Durang
Directed by William Steele

Performances take place off-campus at:
The Portland Stage Studio Theater, 25A Forest Ave., Portland

February 6-14, 2015
Friday, Feb. 6 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 7 at 7:30 p.m. 
Sunday, Feb. 8 at 7:30 p.m. 
Tuesday, Feb. 10 at 7:30 p.m. 
Wednesday, Feb. 11 at 7:30 p.m. 
Thursday, Feb. 12 at 7:30 p.m. 
Friday, Feb. 13 at 7:30 p.m. 
Saturday, Feb. 14 at 7:30 p.m.  

Nothing beats the winter blues like satire, swizzle sticks and a pistol-packing nun!

Join USM Theatre at the Portland Stage Studio Theater for an evening with America’s favorite parodist. First is a twisted incarnation of “The Glass Menagerie,” where fading Southern belle Amanda readies her hypochondriac son Lawrence for a “feminine caller,” though he’d rather focus on his treasured collection of glass cocktail stirrers. Sister Mary joins us for the second half of the evening to indoctrinate us on the dangers of sin, but a few of her old pupils weigh in with their own opinions. In typical farcical fashion, over-the-top characters abound as real-world dilemmas are dissected through an ironic lens of absurdity.     

USM Theatre Catch Me If You Can

A musical with book by Terrence McNally and score by Marc Shaiman & Scott Wittman
Directed by Wil Kilroy  
Musical direction by Edward Reichert
Choreography by Vanessa Beyland
A co-production with the USM Department of Theatre and School of Music
Sponsored by Drs. John and Elizabeth Serrage

March 13-22, 2015
Friday, March 13 at 7:30 p.m.
7:30 p.m., Saturday, March 14 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 15 at 5 p.m. 
Wednesday, March 18 at 5 p.m.; all seats $10
Thursday, March 19 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, March 20 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 21 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 22 at 7:30 p.m.

Frank Abignale Jr. can be anything he dreams when he grows up… if he doesn’t get caught first!

The Maine premiere!

Come along for the ride as teenager Frank Abignale Jr. ditches suburban life for a high-class world of glitz and glamour – and fake IDs, forged checks and a tail by the FBI! The world-class con artist successfully poses as a pilot, a doctor and a lawyer, winning the hearts of women and the trust of men, all while playing a cat-and-mouse game with FBI agent Carl Hanratty. Based on the hit film and astonishing real-life story, “Catch Me if You Can” is a fast-paced new musical with infectious, hard-driving jazz and glorious big-band sound! 

With a score by the dream team behind the Tony Award-winning musical, Hairspray!

USM Theatre As You Like It

A comedy by William Shakespeare 
Directed by Assunta Kent

April 17-26, 2015
Friday, April 17 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 18 at 7:30 p.m. 
Sunday, April 19 at 5 p.m.
Tuesday, April 21 at 10 a.m.; high school matinee
Wednesday, April 22 at 5 p.m.; “$5 at 5” performance
Thursday, April 23 at 7:30 p.m. 
Friday, April 24 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 25 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 26 at 5 p.m.

Four young courtiers run from fatal Politics – into the entanglements of Love.

Escape the tyranny of Civilization and the strictures of Winter into a Summer of Love!  Join two female cousins (one daringly disguised as a wise-cracking boy) “chaperoned” by their Fool or a youngest brother with his aged manservant as they discover the pleasures and pains of pastoral love.  Meet Shakespeare’s lovelorn shepherds and disdainful shepherdesses, wise country folk and foolish yokels.  Eavesdrop on the exiled Duke, his band of merry men, and the melancholy Jacques expounding on the “seven ages of man.”  Come to the Forest of Arden!

An American Sign Language shadow-signed production.

***
Click here to purchase your 2014-2015 Season Flex Pass or single tickets.

Dance USM!

Dance USM!

Directed by Maria A. Tzianabos

"a wonderfully rich sensory experience" - Jessica Lockhart, Talking About Dance

Dance USM! was December 4-7, 2014

Check out coverage by the Portland Press Herald and the Talking About Dance review!

Learn More

Connect With Us