NECHE Accreditation

NECHE Organization and Governance Committee

3. Organization and Governance Committee

Summary Standard: The institution has a system of governance that facilitates the accomplishment of its mission and purposes and supports institutional effectiveness and integrity. Through its organizational design and governance structure, the institution creates and sustains an environment that encourages teaching, learning, service, scholarship, and where appropriate research and creative activity. It assures provision of support adequate for the appropriate functioning of each organizational component.  For detailed standards, please click here.

Committee Co-Chairs

Roxie Black, Director and Professor of Occupational Therapy, Lewiston-Auburn College

Sally Vamvakias, Chair of the College of Arts and Sciences Advisory Committee; former chair of the University of Maine System Board of Trustees

Committee Members

Bruce Clary, Professor, Public Policy & Management, Muskie School of Public Service

Molly Dolby, Parliamentarian, Student Senate

Ross Hickey, J.D., CIP, Associate Director and Institutional Review Board Coordinator, Office of Research Compliance

Jerry LaSala, Professor of Physics, College of Arts and Sciences and Faculty Senate Chair

Susan Picinich, Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences and Professor of Theatre

Lynn Poor, Secretary, Lewiston-Auburn College

James B. Shaffer, Chief Operating Office and Dean of School of Business

Committee Documents 
will be listed and linked as they become available

Return to Committee index page 

This page last updated on June 11, 2010 
For additional information or corrections, please contact Luisa Deprez.