USM Art Department

Art Studnets Working

Scholarships for Art Students

The College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Science awarded five Art Students with Scholarship Awards for the 2021/2022 academic year; Rebecca Goodale Book Arts Scholarship, the H. Lorraine Williams ’69 Scholarship, two Awards from the JoAnn Oransky ’74 Scholarship, and the Donald L. Dimick Scholarship.  Read about all our 2021 Awards Recipients.

Scholarships Make a Difference in Students' Lives

The Art Department is committed to growing Scholarships for its students.  You can help!

Click Here For Gifts to the Art Department or Scholarship Fund 

Scholarship Thanks You note by Olicia Dyer

Image Above: Scholarship Thank You note by Olivia Dyer, 2021/2022 recipient of the JoAnn Oransky '74 Scholarship.


Art Department Scholarships

Application Process Through Faculty Nomination


Announcing the Rebecca Goodale Book Arts Scholarship that will provide support for a student in the visual arts, with preference given to a declared Book Arts minor.  The first scholarship will be awarded for the 2021/2022 academic year.

Image Below: Artist's Book, 8 Neighbors & Roomates, by Rebecca Goodale

8 Neighbors & Roomates

Over the past many years, Professor Rebecca Goodale has been instrumental in the growth and development of book arts at USM, where she has served as program coordinator for the Kate Cheney Chappell ’83 Center for Book Arts. With her retirement set for August 2020, we are thrilled to announce a scholarship established in her honor by the Center’s Advisory Board.

A noted book artist, Rebecca Goodale has taught extensively about this unique art form. Her book arts courses have been used in cross curriculum studies, gaining a wider perspective for our students and the USM community.

Support the Rebecca Goodale Book Arts Scholarship


The George Burk Memorial Scholarship Fund, was created to support talented and deserving Painting & Drawing Art students.  Professor Burk was a long-time Faculty member for the USM Art Department, and was an accomplished painter and a beloved and respected teacher who nurtured the creative spirit and helped launch many artistic careers.  The first Scholarship was awarded for fall 2018, with the second Scholarship awarded for fall 2019.

 Predators-George Burk

Image Above: Predators, by George Burk


The H. Lorraine Williams ’69 Scholarship was established in 2017 with a gift from H. Lorraine Williams ’69 to support Art Education students.  Lorraine had a passion for art education, and taught for over 20 years at Cape Elizabeth schools.  The first Scholarship was awarded for fall 2018, with the second Scholarship awarded for fall 2019.


The JoAnn Oransky ’74 Scholarship was established in 2018 with a gift from JoAnn Oransky ’74 to support Art Education students.  The first Scholarship will be awarded for fall 2019, with subsequent awards in the future.


The Donald L. Dimick Scholarship was established in 1992 with a gift from Donald. L. Dimnick for a student who is actively involved in the operations and studies of art exhibitions and gallery management.


The Sharmon Toner ’13 Scholarship was established to honor Sharmon Toner after her retirement in June 2016 as the Administrative Manager for the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Science.  While a full-time employee, Sharmon steadily worked towards her BFA in Studio Art, eventually graduating with Honors in spring 2013.  The Sharmon Toner Scholarship is awarded to non-traditional students with a preference for students enrolled in the Art Program.  The first Scholarship was awarded for fall 2017, with subsequent awards made for fall 2018 and fall 2019.


College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Science Scholarships

Application Process Through Faculty and/or CAHS Scholarship Committee Nomination


Dorothy “Deedee” Schwartz Memorial Scholarship recognizes Deedee’s strong interest in, and involvement with, the arts, humanities, and commitment to USM.  The fund shall be used to provide scholarship support for students who have demonstrated a strong interest in the humanities and/or the arts.


Audway Stuart and Phyllis Lord Treworgy Scholarship supports entering juniors and seniors in an Arts and Sciences undergraduate program who have demonstrated academic achievement and a commitment to their degree.


Warren Memorial Foundation Scholarship for the Fine and Performing Arts is committed to helping support and celebrate the arts and education.  The importance of the fine performing arts and the impact on communities cannot be under-estimated as they can connect people more deeply to the world and open them to new ways of seeing, creating social bonds and community cohesion. The Warren Memorial Foundation Scholarships are to be used solely for the support of students in the University of Southern Maine’s Fine and Performing Arts.


USM Classics Scholarship was established in 2000 by Peter Aicher, Associate Professor of Modern and Classical Languages and Literature and the Classics faculty. The Scholarships are to support full-time undergraduate students in Humanities majors, including History, English, Philosophy, Liberal Studies, and Art History.


University of Southern Maine Merit Scholarships


Other Scholarship Options