Department of Athletics

Samantha Allen

Women's Basketball Coach
image unavailable

Office Location

Costello Sports Complex




Samantha Allen was named head coach of the women's basketball program in the spring of 2015.

Athletic Director Al Bean made the announcement stating, "I'm pleased to welcome Coach Allen to USM. Since completing her outstanding playing career, Sam has prepared herself to become a collegiate head coach. Her stops along the way at Smith, University of Vermont, and her work with veteran mentor Gary Fifield, have prepared her to take the next step professionally. Sam has tremendous knowledge of the game, is an excellent teacher and motivator and is committed to developing her craft.”

Allen, who has five seasons of collegiate coaching experience including two with Division I University of Vermont, replaced legendary coach Gary Fifield who retired after 27 seasons with the Huskies.

"I am excited and honored to join the Husky family," said Allen. "USM women's basketball has been a great success under Coach Fifield. It was an asset to work with Coach Fifield and to learn from such a knowledgeable basketball mind. I am humbled to follow such a well-respected leader and I am exhilarated to craft a new era and continue to develop strong, intelligent and hard-working women. I am excited for the opportunity to inspire these dedicated women to succeed on the court, in the classroom and within the community and to carry on the USM women’s basketball tradition of excellence."

Allen was the Huskies' lead assistant and recruiting coordinator during the 2014-15 season. Prior to USM, Allen was the Director of Basketball Operations at UVM (2012-14). Allen also had two seasons on the sidelines as an assistant with Smith College (2010-12). 

While at UVM, Allen implemented recruiting tactics that resulted in a pair of America East All-Rookie selections and she was a member of the coaching staff that helped UVM win its first America East playoff game in three seasons. 

Allen's successful recruiting tactics took hold during her two seasons at Smith. While in charge of Smith’s recruiting program, Allen brought in and helped develop two NEWMAC Rookie of the Year selections, a pair of NEWBA All-Region athletes, a trio of all-conference athletes, and one DIII Preseason All-American. During that time, Smith achieved several program firsts, including appearances in the NEWMAC finals and ECAC post-season. During the 2011-12 season, Smith set a then program-record for wins in a season.

"I am thrilled that Sam will be the next women's basketball caoch at USM," said Fifield. "Sam is an exceptional teacher, coach and person. She will work hard to bring top-notch players and people to USM. She is a relentless and well-connected recruiter who can attract and coach excellent players. Under Sam's leadership, USM will always be well prepared, well coached, and represent USM with distinction."

Familiar to Maine girls' HS and women's college basketball, Allen enjoyed successful careers at Lake Region and Colby. A Miss Maine Basketball Finalist in 2006, Allen earned numerous conference and regional honors during her high school playing career, helping Lake Region to its first appearance in the State Championship game in 30 years. She was inducted into the Lake Region Athletic Hall of Fame in 2013.

Following high school, Allen earned a scholarship to DII Southern New Hampshire. A member of SNHU's women's basketball team from 2006-08, Allen transferred to Colby to finish her collegiate career. While at Colby (2008-10), Allen was one of the Mules' captains. With Allen's leadership, Colby set a single-season mark for wins in the 2009-10 season posting a 24-5 record. Along the way, Colby earned its first national ranking and NCAA tournament bid.