2020-21 Catalogs

Financial Information

Each year in May, as part of the annual budget process, the Chancellor shall present recommended tuition, fee, and room and board rates to the Board of Trustees for approval. (Tuition and fee rates become effective after the end of the summer term.) The Board may alter any of these rates at its discretion. A student acknowledges this reservation by applying for admission or registering for courses.

Tuition charges are calculated by multiplying the number of credit hours attempted by a rate established by the Board of Trustees. Courses being audited are included in this calculation. The type of tuition is determined by a student's career/degree level. Undergraduate students taking graduate courses will be charged at the undergraduate rate; graduate students taking undergraduate courses will be charged at the graduate rate.


Tuition rates for the 2020-2021 academic year (updated July 6, 2020):

Undergraduate Tuition Charges Per Credit Hour  
Maine Resident$288 
Non-Maine Resident$769 
New England Regional Student Program$475 
Canadian Resident$288 
E-tuition (for non-Maine residents in fully online programs only)$439 

Additional information about Law tuition and fees can be found at http://mainelaw.maine.edu/admissions/financing-your-education/tuition-and-fees/.

New England Regional Student Program In cooperation with the New England Board of Higher Education, the University offers certain programs of study at a reduced tuition rate for qualified candidates from the New England states. Because the listing of available programs can vary from year to year, candidates should consult the information provided at http://www.nebhe.org/programs-overview/rsp-tuition-break/overview/. Details are also available at University admissions offices.


Fees for the 2020-2021 academic year (updated July 6, 2020):

For All Students
  • Community Standards Fee A $35 fee is charged to any student who is sanctioned under the Conduct Code.
  • Course Fees To defray the costs associated with some courses, additional fees ranging from $5 to $360 are assessed. These fees are associated with courses requiring additional instructional resources.
  • Distance Learning Technology Fee Students registered at University College Centers and sites are charged a $6 per credit hour technology fee.
  • Insufficient Funds Fee A $25 fee is charged when a check is returned due to insufficient funds or when a credit card payment is declined.
  • Payment Plan Fee A $30 fee is charged to students enrolling in a University three-, four-, or five-installment payment plan.
  • Late Payment Fee A $50 fee (to a maximum of $200) is charged to student accounts not paid when bill is due.
  • Online Course Enrollment Fee Students registering for online classes are charged a $40-per-credit-hour fee for all blended and online courses to help pay for additional student services including tutoring, advising, and library services. The fee also provides for faculty support services, technology infrastructure, maintenance and upgrades.
  • Student Health and Counseling Fee A mandatory $80 health fee is charged to students registered for six or more credits of instructional activities emanating from the Portland and/or Gorham campus for fall and spring semesters. Such activities include independent study, internships, field experiences, etc. Credits for regular classes taken at off-campus locations are omitted when determining this fee.
    For students taking fewer than 6 credits, a health fee may be applied if they plan to make use of the services available at Health and Counseling services. For more information about the services covered by the student health and counseling fee and the cost of enrolling, contact University Health and Counseling Services.
  • Student Health Insurance  All undergraduate students enrolled in 9 or more credit hours and graduate students enrolled in 6 or more credit hours are required by the University of Maine System to maintain health insurance coverage.  Additional information about the health insurance requirement is available from University Health and Counseling Services at 207-780-5411 or at http://usm.maine.edu/uhcs.
  • Summer Session Administration Fee Students registering for Summer Session classes are assessed a one time $35.00 fee to support summer administrative costs.
  • Transportation Fee A mandatory semester fee is assessed to all students registered for courses that are held on the Portland and/or Gorham campuses. It funds parking and other transportation-related projects, as well as busing between campuses. It eliminates the need to pay for a required parking permit.
    Credits AttemptedFee
  • Lewiston-Auburn College Parking Fee A mandatory $3-per-credit-hour fee is assessed to students registered for courses held on the LAC campus.
  • Unified Fee A mandatory $33-per-credit-hour fee is assessed to cover fixed costs of providing educational services not already supported by tuition charges.
Additional Undergraduate Fees
  • Activity Fee Students taking undergraduate courses are assessed a mandatory student activity fee. The amount charged depends on the number of credit hours attempted.  Students registering for undergraduate courses taught at Lewiston-Auburn College or University of Maine System Off-Campus Centers are charged $1.50 per credit hour.
    Credits AttemptedFee
  • Application Fee USM no longer requires an application fee for undergraduate or graduate admission. This includes in-state, out-of-state, and international applicants as well as reapplication or reactivation.
  • Enrollment Fee A mandatory $175 fee is charged to newly admitted undergraduate students. This fee is charged only once.
  • Prior Learning Assessment Fee Charges for exams offered by the Office of Prior Learning Assessment can be found at http://usm.maine.edu/prior-learning-assessment.

Room and Board

USM Meal Plans

The University offers several different resident student meal plans. Information about resident meal plans is available from the Department of Residential Life.  A description of meal plan choices and current rates can be found at http://usm.maine.edu/residential-life.

Commuter Meal Plans

Commuter meal plans allow students to purchase food at a discount. Information about the plans is available from the Department of Residential Life, Dining Services, and Campus Card Services.


University residence halls are located on the Gorham campus. Information about housing is available from the Office of Residential Life, 100 Upton Hall, Gorham (780-5240). While the student is billed by the semester, the housing contract is for the full academic year.  A description of room types and current rates can be found at http://usm.maine.edu/residential-life

Other Expenses

Books and Supplies Students are responsible for the purchase of books and supplies. Payment is made at the time of purchase.


For Undergraduate Applications

When a student is notified of acceptance into a University undergraduate degree program, a $100 enrollment deposit is due by May 1 for the fall semester, January 2 for the spring semester, and April 1 for the summer term. If admitted after these dates for the corresponding semester or term, a deposit is due within fifteen days. The deposit will be applied to tuition charges.

The deposit will be forfeited if the student notifies the Office of Admissions of their intention to withdraw after May 1 (fall semester), January 2 (spring semester) or April 1 (summer term).

For Students Living in Campus Housing

Newly admitted students who apply for on-campus housing must pay a $75 room deposit. Usually the deposit is applied to the fall bill. If a student notifies Residential Life in writing that housing is not desired before June 1, the deposit will be refunded. If notification is received after June 1, the deposit is forfeited. Students applying for spring housing, should contact Residential Life for payment and refund deadlines.

Payment Policies and Procedures for all students


Students can access MaineStreet billing statements, specific semester due dates, and other important account information at https://usm.maine.edu/student-financial-services The University is not obligated to mail paper billing statements.

It is critical that official University email accounts are checked often by all students. In many cases, it will be the only means of receiving important information from Student Financial Services and other University departments.

It is the student's responsibility to ensure that all addresses recorded on MaineStreet are correct.

Payment options:
  • ACH (electronic check) ACH payments are made online. No fee is charged for this type of payment.
  • Cash Cash payment may be made at the Student Financial Services Office or at an off-campus center. Cash should not be mailed.
  • Checks Paper checks should be made payable to the University of Southern Maine. The student's name and student I.D. number should be shown on the check.
  • Credit Cards USM uses an outside vendor to process credit card payments. The student is charged a convenience fee by the vendor.  All credit card payments are made online.
  • Installment Payment The University offers a variety of payment plans. Information about these plans is available from Student Financial Services.
  • Outside Scholarships A student must notify Student Financial Services of any non-University scholarships, to be used to pay University charges, prior to the date payment is due. Upon receipt of proper documentation, the University may extend the payment due date.
  • Third Party Payments A student must give Student Financial Services written authorization from the agency/employer prior to the payment due date. No conditional payment offers will be accepted. Please note: if, for any reason, the third party does not make payment, the student is liable for all charges.

Each semester, the University establishes specific dates payment is due and notifies students of these dates on bills, through University publications, and at https://usm.maine.edu/student-financial-services

All charges posted to student accounts after the posted semester or term payment due date must be paid no later than ten (10) calendar days from the date the charge was incurred.

A late fee is charged if payment is not received by the due date. Students with past due charges are not allowed to re-register. Students who show a pattern of late payment may be required to pay all University charges before registration is allowed. The University reserves the right to cancel a current semester's registration, preventing a student from receiving grades or credit for courses, if outstanding charges are not paid.

Transcripts, certification of graduation, and other records will be withheld from students who have not paid all bills and loans due the University. This includes bills for damage to University property and unpaid charges or fines owed to other University departments.

Financial Adjustments for Tuition, Fees, Room and Board

Adding Courses Adding courses at any time may result in additional charges to the student’s account.

Dropping Some Courses A student who remains registered is not charged for any dropped course that meets for twelve weeks or longer if the course is dropped prior to the end of the second week (fourteen days). All charges remain on a student account for a course dropped after the fourteen-day deadline.

For courses that meet for less than twelve weeks, the deadline to drop with a 100% reduction of charges is one day for each week the course is scheduled to meet (e.g. the deadline to drop a five-week course is prior to the end of the fifth day). All charges remain on a student account for a course dropped after the deadline.

Withdrawing from All Courses A student is not charged when withdrawing from all University of Maine System courses that meet for twelve weeks or longer if the withdrawal is submitted prior to the end of the second week (fourteen days).  Tuition and mandatory fees are adjusted at a percentage for students withdrawing from all courses after fourteen days. The adjustment schedule is available at https://usm.maine.edu/student-financial-services

For courses that meet for less than twelve weeks, the deadline to withdraw with a 100% reduction of charges is one day for each week individual courses are scheduled to meet (e.g. the deadline to drop a five-week course is prior to the end of the fifth day). All charges remain on a student account when a student withdraws from all courses after the deadline.

Determination of Attendance For purposes of calculating financial adjustments for students dropping from some or withdrawing from all courses, attendance includes weekends and holidays and ends on the student’s last date of attendance as determined when she or he notifies the institution's designated official office that she or he has stopped attending. The length of a class is defined on the official class schedule. Changes in scheduled classes (beginning or ending) by the instructor are not considered when calculating adjustments. 

Room and Board Adjustments All adjustments to room charges are governed by the terms of the Residence Hall Contract. Students who withdraw from the University are charged for meals at an established prorated daily rate. Additional information is available from the Department of Residential Life or at http://usm.maine.edu/residential-life/  

Involuntary Withdrawals Consideration for financial adjustments of charges for involuntary withdrawals (e.g., extended illness or military service) will be considered on a case-by-case basis. The deadline for requesting an involuntary withdrawal is up to 90 days after the close of the term for which the student is requesting an exception to the withdrawal policy.  The spring semester deadline is less than 90 days for students who have been awarded some types of financial aid. Charges will not be reduced for voluntary absence from classes. Contact Student Financial Services for additional information about this appeal process.

Administrative dismissals are not entitled to an adjustment of institutional charges.

Students registering at other University of Maine System campuses should contact billing offices at those institutions with questions regarding financial adjustments.

Rules Governing In-State and Out-of-State Tuition

There are many factors that will be considered in determining residency for in-state tuition purposes. No one factor can be used to establish domicile; rather, all factors and circumstances must be considered on a case-by-case basis. A domicile or residency classification assigned by a public or private authority neither qualifies nor disqualifies a student for University of Maine System (UMS) in-state status.

A student applying for admission to a degree program is classified as eligible or not eligible for in-state tuition at the time of acceptance to the University. A non-matriculated (non-degree) student is classified as eligible or not eligible for in-state tuition at the time of registration. The decision, made by the associate director of Student Financial Services, or other officials designated by the campus (this authority is granted to all Admission directors) shall be made based on information and documentation furnished by the student and other information available to the University. No student is eligible for in-state tuition classification until he or she has become domiciled in Maine, in accordance with University guidelines, before such registration. If the student is enrolled full-time in an academic program, as defined by the University, it will be presumed that the student is in Maine for educational purposes, and that the student is not in Maine to establish a domicile. A residence established for the purpose of attending a UMS campus shall not by itself constitute domicile. The burden will be on the student to prove that he or she has established a Maine domicile for other than educational purposes. An individual who has lived in the state of Maine, for other than educational purposes, one year prior to registration or application to a campus is considered an in-state student.

Current members of the United States Armed forces and veterans who have been honorably discharged who are enrolled at the University of Southern Maine are eligible for in-state tuition rates, regardless of the member's or veteran's state of residence. All dependents using a GI Bill are billed at the in-state tuition rate.

A student will be considered in-state for tuition purposes if they are the spouse or domestic partner of an individual who currently has continuous, permanent full-time employment in Maine and their employment began prior to the student registering or applying for degree status at the University. Students seeking in-state tuition based on a domestic partnership relationship must submit an approved Affidavit of Domestic Partnership.

A student who is dependent on his/her parent(s) and/or legally appointed guardian (or to whom custody has been granted by court order) is considered to have a domicile with the parent(s) for tuition purposes.

In-state tuition is not available to anyone who holds a non-immigrant U.S. visa. If an individual is not a resident of the United States, they cannot be a resident of the state of Maine.

A student who attended an out-of-state educational institution at in-state tuition rates in the immediately preceding semester, shall be presumed to be in Maine for educational purposes and not to establish a domicile. Again, the burden will be on the individual to prove that he or she has established a Maine domicile for other than educational purposes.

To change tuition status, the following procedures must be followed:

A "Request for Change of Residence Status" must be filed with the associate director of Student Financial Services or designee on or before the campus's first day of classes for the summer session or fall or spring semester for which residency is requested. All applications shall be prospective.

If the associate director of Student Financial Services written decision, to be issued within thirty days of the first day of classes, is considered incorrect by the student, the student may appeal that decision in writing, within thirty days, to the vice president for enrollment management of the campus.

In the event that the associate director of Student Financial Services, or other designated official, possesses facts or information indicating a student's change of status from in-state to out-of-state, the student shall be informed in writing of the change in status and will be given an opportunity to present facts in opposition to the change. The student may appeal the decision of the associate director of Student Financial Services or other designated official as set forth in the preceding paragraph.

"Request for Change of Residence Status" applications are available at https://usm.maine.edu/student-financial-services or at the Student Financial Services Office, 101 Bailey Hall, Gorham, or the Student Financial Services Office, Luther Bonney, Portland. Completed applications should be returned to the Student Financial Services Office.