Educational Leadership


CAEP logo

USM’s School of Education and Human Development Accredited by CAEP

USM’s School of Education and Human Development Accredited by CAEP. The University of Southern Maine is the first institution in the University of Maine System to achieve national accreditation for both its initial and advanced educator preparation programs.

Michael Boyd named an inaugural Shaw Innovation Fellow

Each of the USM graduate students has been awarded a $5,000 stipend to pursue their passion projects.
BestValueSchools logo

Recognized as One of the Top Best Online Master's in Educational Leadership has recognized USM’s M.S.Ed in Educational Leadership as one of the best values for online master’s programs in educational leadership.
Andrew Dolloff

USM graduate Dolloff named 2021 Maine Superintendent of the Year

In addition to receiving the state’s top principal and superintendent honors, Andrew Dolloff received Maine’s School Superintendents Association Outstanding Leadership Award in 2017 and the New England League of Middle Schools Outstanding Superintendent Award in 2020.

USM Alumna is Named 2020 Assistant Principal of the Year

Erin Maguire has been named the 2020 Assistant Principal of the Year by the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) and the Maine Principals’ Association (MPA).

2019 SEHD Wall of Achievement Inductees

The School of Education and Human Development (SEHD) kicks off each new academic year by awarding distinguished alumnae with induction to its Wall of Achievement.

USM Alumna Named 2018 Sagadahoc County Teacher of the Year

Alumna Christine Del Rossi '96, '13 was named the 2018 Sagadahoc County Teacher of the Year. Del Rossi, who earned her BA in Art in 1996 and her MS.Ed. in Professional Education in 2013 from the University, has been a Visual Arts teacher at Mt. Ararat for 22 years, first at the middle school and now at the high school for the past six years.

USM M.S.Ed. Candidate Finalist for Presidential Award

Kirsten Gould was a 2018 finalist for the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), the Nation's Highest Honors for Teachers of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM).

Register for the Fall 2020 Visible Learning Institute!

Southern Maine Partnership hosts Professor John Hattie's only Fall 2020 US appearance at the Visible Learningplus Institute on September 23-24, 2020.
Images of professors Peabody, Stewart McCafferty and Gerstenblatt

Trustees approve promotions and tenure for three USM faculty members

The University of Maine System Board of Trustees approved tenure this Spring for three University of Southern Maine faculty members: Mary Anne Peabody, Ph.D., Anita Stewart McCafferty, Ed.D. and Paula Gerstenblatt, Ph.D. All three have been promoted to the rank of associate professor.