Department of English


There are many scholarships available for USM students. 

For more information, visit


  1. USM Scholarships
    These are open to all USM students who fulfill the individual award criteria.

  2. CAHS Scholarships
    These are open to all College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Science students who fulfill individual award criteria.  We would like to direct your attention to two CAHS awards that English majors may be especially successful in pursuing:

    1. Treworgy Scholarship
      Open to any major entering Junior or Senior Year, with a minimum GPA of 3.00, who has demonstrated a commitment to his/her degree and demonstrates financial need.

    2. USM Classics Scholarship
      Open to full time undergraduates in History, English, Philosophy, Liberal Studies and Art History.

  3. Department of English Scholarships
    The Department of English administers two scholarships that are only available to English majors:

    1.  C. Elizabeth Sawyer Scholarship
      This scholarship is awarded to an active English major who holds senior status. The student must demonstrate outstanding academic achievement, have a minimum GPA of 3.5, and intend to enter the teaching profession by pursuing graduate study in English.  

    2. Rick Carbonneau Scholarship
      This award is a partial scholarship toward attending the annual Stonecoast Writers’ Conference and is awarded to an active English major who is a non-traditional (adult) student with outstanding writing ability. The application deadline is in mid-March.

      Of these, only the Carbonneau Scholarship for the Stonecoast Writers’ Conference requires an application.  The Sawyer Scholarship is awarded through a process of faculty review.  Majors are notified by the Department if they are eligible, and these students may be asked to submit further application materials.

      Majors will be notified when scholarship eligibility is available.


2021 Scholarship Winners
Willow Beavis - Jordan Maroon Memorial Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Julia Gay - C. Elizabeth Sawyer Scholarship ($500)
​​​​​​​Ashley King - USM Classics Scholarship ($1000)
Alexandria Lecrone - USM Classics Scholarship ($1000)

2020 Scholarship Winners
​​​​​​​Tim Aliviado - C. Elizabeth Sawyer Scholarship ($500)
​​​​​​​Julia Gay - CAHS Annual Dean's Scholarship ($500)
​​​​​​​Kalia Moore - USM Classics Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Lydia Roberge - USM Classics Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Elizabeth Schepis - Jordan Maroon Memorial Scholarship ($1000)
Jessica Toomey - CAHS Annual Scholarship (Virginia Weaver Scholarship) ($1000)

2019 Scholarship Winners
Julien Baker - Jordan Maroon Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Stephen Fasulo - Rick W. Carbonneau Scholarship ($500)
​​​​​​​Reilly Johnson - C. Elizabeth Sawyer Scholarship ($500)
​​​​​​​Paige Marcello - CAHS Annual Dean's Scholarship ($500)
​​​​​​​Sarah Rouleau - Virginia Weaver Scholarship ($1000)
​​Jacob Simard - CAHS Annual Dean's Scholarship ($500)

2018 Scholarship Winners
​​​​​​​Katelyn Bates - Treworgy Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Haley Bantz - C. Elizabeth Sawyer Scholarship ($500)
​​​​​​​Abbey Donahue - CAHS Annual Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Kailey Harris - Virginia Weaver Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Katherine Hast - Dorothy "Deedee" Schwartz Memorial Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Jack Martin - Jordan Maroon Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Lara Scott - Rick W. Carbonneau Scholarship ($500)
Peter Valentino - USM Classics Scholarship ($1000)

2017 Scholarship Winners
​​​​​​​​​​Nathaniel Baldwin - C. Elizabeth Sawyer Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Joseph Feely - Treworgy Scholarship ($1250)
​​​​​​​Nacoma Gray - Virginia Weaver Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Ashley Pierce - USM Classics Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Erik Squire - Jordan Maroon Scholarship ($1000)
​​​​​​​Samuel Walker - Rick Carbonneau Scholarship ($895)
Cree West - CAHS Annual Scholarship ($1250)