Department of Engineering

2012 Faculty Senate Award Banquet

At this year's Faculty Senate Award Banquet, two of our Engineering Faculty received awards.

Professor of Electrical Engineering, Dr. Carlos Luck was the recipient of the 2012 Faculty Senate Award in the category of Service. Dr. Luck joined the USM Engineering Department in 1995. His service to the department includes support for the engineering student organizations and development of innovative curriculum for Electrical, Computer, and Mechanical Engineering. Dr. Luck has served on the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate for the past 4 years.

Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Dr Mehrdaad Ghorashi was the recipient of the 2012 Faculty Senate Award in the category of Scholarship. Dr. Ghorashi joined the USM Engineering Department in 2009. He has received a NASA Faculty travel grant and will visit the Glenn Research Center in July 2012 (together with Mark Jacobs, a Mechanical Engineering major). He has co-authored a paper that has been accepted for presentation and publication at the coming national ASEE conference in San Antonio, TX. His co-author (Nicholas Randall) is a Mechanical Engineering major and will present the paper. This year Dr. Ghorashi published a paper in Nonlinear Dynamics which is the leading journal in the area of nonlinear dynamical systems. He has also been a Co-PI of a recently funded NSF grant. Dr. Ghorashi has been committed to developing mechanical engineering laboratories and integrating lectures and laboratory activities in his classes at USM. Currently, he is working on writing a chapter of a book entitled, "Composites in Helicopter Industry: Properties, Manufacturing and Applications," that is going to be published by the Woodhead Publishing Company in the UK.

 ~On behalf of the department we congratulate and thank both of you for your hard work and continuous dedication.