Department of Environmental Science and Policy

USM Establishes First Northern New England Chapter of Interdisciplinary Environmental Science Honor Society

The University of Southern Maine announces the creation of a new chapter of Kappa Alpha Omicron (KAO), the international honor society in interdisciplinary environmental sciences/studies. This is the first chapter of the society in northern New England and the sixth chapter in the country.

Dr. Michael R. Stevenson, USM Provost, noted “USM is honored to be the first KAO chapter in New England. It creates both exciting opportunities for our students and national recognition of their exemplary achievements. The degrees our students earn, Environmental Science or Environmental Planning and Policy,” continued Stevenson, “are essential to the long-term success of the state of Maine. The students, and the state, will truly benefit from the new KAO chapter.”

KAO is designed to offer students working on interdisciplinary environmental issues academic support, a resource for networking across disciplines and countries, and recognition for the outstanding interdisciplinary work being performed in this rapidly expanding academic discipline.

Students will be nominated to KAO based on their GPA. “Establishing this chapter at USM represents an important achievement and recognition of the academic excellence of our many undergraduate students,” explains Dr. Travis Wagner, Associate Professor of environmental science and policy and faculty adviser to the USM KAO chapter.The KAO honor society also promotes and encourages new students to enter environmental fields while providing a foundation to support the expansion of environmental research and contacts. The Greek letters of the organization stand for the perspectives that can be used to address environmental issues: Kosmos (the universe), Anthropos (humanity), and Oikos (household).


About USM's Department of Environmental Science
The USM Department of Environmental Science, headquartered on the USM’s Gorham Campus, was established in 1997 and has grown to 100 majors and offers two baccalaureate degrees, five minors, and three professional certificates. More information about the Department of Environmental Science can be found at

And for more information on USM's College of Science, Technology, and Health: