Franco-American Collection

Collection By-Laws

University of Southern Maine
Lewiston-Auburn College



ARTICLE I. Name and Purpose

A. There is established at the University of Southern Maine’s Lewiston-Auburn College (USM LAC) the Franco-American Collection Board of Directors.

B. The purpose of the Board shall include the following:
To establish policies for the Collection in, but not limited to, the following areas:

a. Archival practices and procedures;
b. Acquisition and disposal;
c. Long-term goals and planning
d. Relationships/collaborations with other entities.
To support the Collection as follows:
a. Approving recommendations for the budget and purchasing;
b. Providing advice and assistance with development efforts;
c. Providing advice and assistance with marketing and public relations efforts;
d. Providing advice and assistance with event planning and coordination;
e. Providing guidance and direction to the Collection Coordinator and serving as a resource to the Dean;
f. Serving as a forum for the consideration and discussion of issues that affect the preservation of Franco-American history and culture;
g. Fulfilling such other functions as it deems in the best interest of the Franco-American Collection.

C. Any actions taken or policies adopted by the Board under this section may be reviewed by the USM LAC Dean. As the chief administrative officer of the College, the Dean, after consultation with the Board, may alter or reverse any actions of the Board.

ARTICLE II. Membership

A. There shall be no fewer than 12, or more than 16 members on the Board. No fewer than 6 voting members must be community representatives.

B. Those holding the following positions at USM LAC will have ongoing membership on the board:

a. Coordinator, F-A Collection
b. USM LAC Curator
c. USM LAC Director of Communications
d. USM LAC Franco-American Scholar
e. A USM Lewiston-Auburn College faculty representative elected by the Lewiston-Auburn College faculty
f. USM LAC Librarian or designee

C. The USM LAC Dean shall serve as an ex-officio member.

D. There shall be at all times at least one student representative and up to two (2) nominated by the Dean and appointed by Board.

E. The term of each such member shall commence immediately following his or her election. Terms shall be three years in length.  There shall be no limit on the number of terms for which a member can serve.

F. Vacancies on the Board shall be filled for the balance of the term in the same manner as the vacant position was originally filled.


A. The officers of the Board shall consist of a Chair, Vice-chair, Secretary, and Treasurer

B. The Secretary will be responsible for keeping the minutes and other records of the Board and providing Board members with the agenda and minutes of the previous meeting.

C. The Chair, Vice-chair, Secretary and Treasurer shall be elected by the Board from among the membership. Their terms of office shall be one year in length and run concurrently with the time remaining on their Board appointments. The Chair should be elected from among the community representatives (if any such member is willing to serve) and shall not serve more than two consecutive terms.  The Vice-chair shall not serve more than two consecutive terms.  There shall be no limit on the number of terms served by the Secretary or Treasurer.

D. The Chair shall preside at all meetings of the Board and the Vice-chair shall preside in the absence of the Chair. Should the Chair resign, the Vice-chair will assume the position temporarily until a new Chair is elected.

E. The elections of officers shall be held upon nomination of the nominating committee no later than the first regularly scheduled meeting in each year in which a vacancy occurs, such year being defined as September 1 through August 31. This section will not apply during the year in which these bylaws are adopted.


A. A quorum necessary for the conduct of business shall be defined as 50 percent plus one of those members who have been elected or appointed.

ARTICLE V. Committees

A. The Board may establish an executive committee and such other committees as the Chair may appoint. Such committees may be created on a temporary or standing basis.

B. Standing committees shall include:

a. Events committee;
b. Budget committee;
c. Scholarship committee;
d. Collection Development / Maintenance committee

ARTICLE VI. Meetings

A. The Board shall meet no fewer than four times per year. Additional meetings may be called by the Chair or the Dean, providing that adequate notice is given to all Board members. Standing committee meetings will be decided by their membership.

ARTICLE VII. Attendance

A. Members who miss three consecutive meetings may, at the discretion of the Board, be removed from the Board.

ARTICLE VIII. Amendments

A. These by-laws may be amended at any regularly scheduled meeting of the Board upon prior notice to the membership in advance of such meeting. A majority of those members presently holding seats on the Board shall be required for amendment of the by-laws.

ARTICLE IX. Conduct of Meetings

A. Meetings shall generally be held on the premises of USM’s Lewiston-Auburn College.

B. Members of the Board will be given adequate notice (no fewer than seven days) of each meeting of the board. A tentative agenda and minutes of the previous meeting shall be circulated with such notice. Notice, however, may be waived by the Chair or a majority of the members of the Board for an emergency meeting.

C. Meetings shall be informal and democratic. Should rules of procedure be necessary, Roberts Rules of Order are adopted as the governing rules of the Board.

These by-laws were adopted by the Franco-American Collection Board of Directors on April 28, 2003.

Revised and approved April 11 2013