Geographic Information Systems

GIS Advisory Committee

The goals of USM-GIS are in part guided by the GIS Advisory Committee. The frequency of meetings is determined by the Committee and typically works out to once per semester. Committee members are those people within the University community who use or support GIS at USM. They come from a wide variety of fields representing four of the University's colleges. They are:

Full Members

Firooza Pavri, Geography-Anthropology

Matthew Bampton, Geography-Anthropology

David Harris, Nursing

Stephen Houser, IT

Jack Kartez, Community Planning and Development

Irwin Novak, Geosciences

Jan Piribeck, Art

Rob Sanford, Environmental Science

Mark Swanson, Geosciences

Glenn Wilson, Technology

Ex officio Members
Chair of the Geography-Anthropology Department, Firooza Pavri
Director of USM-GIS, Vinton Valentine
GIS Laboratory Operations Manager

Please feel free to contact the chair of the committee if you wish to sit in on any of the meetings, or are interested in joining the committee.