Special Collections

USM Timeline and Graphic Representation

Graphic Representaiton of USM History


1878 - Gorham Normal School established (GNS) as Western Maine Normal School, Maine's third normal school

1879 - Gorham Normal School opens in January, 1879. Course of study is one year

1881 - Course of study increased to two years

1921 - Portland University is incorporated (PU)

1925 - (GNS) Program for Junior High preparation begun and course of study increased to three years

1925 - Portland University closes
1933 - Portland Junior College (PJC) opens

1938 - (GNS) First baccalaureate (four year) degrees awarded

1943 - PJC is closed because of WWII

1945 - Portland University's old charter is revised and reopens, primarily to provide law training in Maine

1945 - GNS renamed Gorham State Teacher's College (GSTC)

1946 - PJC reopens, but for men only, to accomodate ex servicemen

1947 - Portland Junior College aquires the former Deering Estate, the present location of USM's Portland campus

1949 - Portland University is given the right to grant the law degree (LLB) by the state

1953 - PU is granted the right to confer other degrees by the state, the College of Business Administration is established

1957 - PJC acquired by the UM System in 1957, becomes University of Maine in Portland (UMP). It remains a two year school until 1961

1960 - Regional accreditation for GSTC

1961 - Portland University merges with UMP and PU's Portland Law School becomes the University of Maine School of Law

1961 - Coeds are first enrolled on the Portland campus. PJC was a male only school and UMP continued on as such until the fall of 1961.

1962 - Continuing Education Divison established at UMP

1964 - Graduate School established at GSTC, Gorham

1965 - National accreditation for GSTC

1965 - GSTC renamed Gorham State College (GSC)

1966 - Secondary Education program established in Gorham

1968 - Gorham State College joins the UM system and becomes Gorham State College of University of Maine (GSC of UM)

1969 - Trustees decree that GSC and UMP will merge to become the University of Maine at Portland-Gorham (UMPG) in 1970

1970 - July 11, 1970, the UMPG merger becomes effective, the academic merger follows one year later (the Fall term 1971 is the first as UMPG)

1978 - UMPG is renamed the University of Southern Maine (USM)

1988 - Lewiston/Auburn College of USM established