School of Music

May 16-18, USM School of Music hosts 60th Annual MMEA All State Music Festival

MMEA LogoThe USM School of Music is proud to host the Maine Music Educators Association and hundreds of student musicians from all over Maine who have been selected to perform in the MMEA All State Music Festival from May 16 to 18 on the USM Gorham campus.

This annual festival, now in its 60th year, includes band, orchestra and chorus ensembles. Students went through a rigorous audition process last fall to be selected to participate in this festival. They will rehearse Thursday and Friday on the USM Gorham campus, culminating in three separate concerts at the Windham High School Performing Arts Center on Saturday, May 18th.

The All State Band will perform at 2:00 p.m. under the direction of Jermie Arnold. Professor Arnold is Associate Director of Bands at the Bob Cole Conservatory of Music at California State University at Long Beach.

The All State Orchestra will perform at 3:30 p.m. under the direction of Robert Moody, conductor of the Portland Symphony Orchestra since 2008.

The All State Chorus will perform at 5 p.m. under the direction of Joseph Henry, member of the Eureka College faculty since 1991, and currently serving as an Associate Provost, Professor of Music, and the Director of Choral Activities. He has degrees in music education and choral conducting from the University of Southern Maine, the University of Maine, and the University of Missouri, Conservatory of Music in Kansas City.

The public is welcome to attend the concerts.


Members of the press, and those needing special accommodations to participate fully in this program, contact Lori Arsenault, (207) 780-5142, Hearing impaired: call USM's telex / TDD number (207) 780-5646

Participating in the program will be students from the following high schools: Bangor Christian Schools, Bangor, Belfast Area, Bonny Eagle, Brewer, Brunswick, Buckfield, Camden Regional, Cape Elizabeth, Caribou, Cheverus, Cony, Dexter, Dirigo, Edward Little, Ellsworth, Falmouth, Foxcroft, Freeport, Fryeburg Academy, Gardner Area High School, George Stevens Academy,  Gorham, Gray-New Gloucester, Greely, Hall-Dale, Hampden, Hebron Academy, Hermon, Houlton, Islesboro, John Bapst Memorial, Kennebunk, Kents Hill, Lake Region, Lawrence, Leavitt Area, Lewiston, Lincoln Academy, Madawaska, Maine Central Institute, Maranacook Community, Marshwood, Massabesic, Mattanawcook Academy, Messalonskee, Morse, Mt. Ararat, Mt. Blue, Mt. Desert Island, Mt. View, Noble, North Yarmouth Academy, Oak Hill, Oceanside High School East, Oceanside High School West, Old Town High School, Orono, Oxford Hillls Comprehensive, Penobscott Valley, Portland, Presque Isle, Richmond, Sacopee Valley, Sanford, Scarborough, Skowhegan Area, South Portland , St. Dominic Academy, Stearns, Sumner Memorial, Telstar High School, Thornton Academy, Van Buren District Secondary School, Washburn District, Washington Academy, Waterville Senior, Waynflete School, Westbrook, Windham, Windham Christian Academy, Winslow, Yarmouth, and York.

For more information about the Maine Music Educators Association, visit