Planetarium

July 2013 Show Schedule

JULY 2013 PLANETARIUM SHOW SCHEDULE


Summer begins!


So, we know that you truly miss the frigid darkness that dominates our state for most of the year and you just want to get away from the sultry air and enveloping sunshine.   Well, precious, we summon you to the subterranean star dome where night is perpetual, the skies clear, and you can immerse yourself in the fug of the centuries, even at highest noon.


We offer matinees at 11 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday; and at 3:00 p.m. on Saturdays.   We also offer our evening astronomy shows on Friday evening at 7:00 p.m. and 8:30 p.m.     


We're excited to announce that on July 15th, we'll introduce "Rusty Rocket's Last Blast!" in full dome format!    Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


Admission prices:


Evening astronomy shows:   $6.50 - adults; $6.00 - children, students and seniors


Matinees - $5.50 - adults; $5.00 - children, students and seniors


Call 207-780-4249  or e-mail  egleason@usm.maine.edu  for more information


Monday, July 1


11:00 a.m. Full Dome: The Little Star That Could


1:00 p.m.  Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


Tuesday, July 2


11:00 a.m.  Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


1:00 p.m. Two Small Pieces of Glass: full dome version


Wednesday, July 3


11:00 a.m. Full Dome: The Little Star That Could


1:00 p.m. IBEX: The Search for the Edge of the Solar System


Thursday, July 4


CLOSED TO CELEBRATE OUR INDEPENDENCE!


Friday, July 5


CLOSED TO CONTINUE CELEBRATING


Saturday, July 6


3:00 p.m. Full Dome: The Little Star That Could


[NOTE: Sunday matinees return in September.  The next Sunday matinee is scheduled for September 8, 2013.]


Monday, July 8


11:00 a.m. Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


1:00 p.m. Two Small Pieces of Glass: full dome version


Tuesday, July 9


11:00 a.m. Full Dome: The Little Star That Could


1:00 p.m. Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


Wednesday, July 10


11:00 a.m. Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


1:00 p.m. IBEX: The Search for the Edge of the Solar System


Thursday, July 11


11:00 a.m. Full Dome: The Little Star That Could


1:00 p.m. Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


Saturday, July 13


3:00 p.m. Two Small Pieces of Glass: full dome version


Monday, July 15


11:00 a.m.   DEBUT SHOWING!  Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!     


1:00 p.m.    Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


Tuesday, July 16


11:00 a.m. Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


1:00 p.m. IBEX: The Search for the Edge of the Solar System


Wednesday, July 17


11:00 a.m. Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


1:00 p.m. Two Small Pieces of Glass: full dome version


Thursday, July 18


11:00 a.m. Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


1:00 p.m.  Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


Friday, July 19


7:00 p.m. Two Small Pieces of Glass: full dome version


8:30 p.m. Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


Saturday, July 20


3:00 p.m. Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


Monday, July 22


11:00 a.m. Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


1:00 p.m. IBEX: The Search for the Edge of the Solar System


Tuesday, July 23


11:00 a.m. Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


1:00 p.m. IBEX: The Search for the Edge of the Solar System


Wednesday, July 24


11:00 a.m. Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


1:00 p.m. Two Small Pieces of Glass: full dome version


Thursday, July 25


11:00 a.m. Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


1:00 p.m. Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


Friday, July 26


7:00 p.m. Two Small Pieces of Glass: full dome version


8:30 p.m. Eight Planets and Counting: full dome version


Saturday, July 27


3:00 p.m. Rusty Rocket in Full Dome!


Monday, July 29 - Wednesday, July 31


PLANETARIUM CLOSED. NEXT PUBLIC SHOW - August 1, 2013

About Us

What can you do at the Southworth Planetarium?  See a showenroll in a classattend a lecture, buy fascinating science toys, explore our exhibit area, learn the night sky.

We are open throughout the week. Not only do we have public shows, but we offer private shows to school groups, scout troops, birthday parties, business organizations, and more.

Like the Universe, itself, the more you explore the planetarium, the more you'll discover!  

Connect With Us