Office of the President

Previous USM Presidents

Previous USM Presidents

  1. William Corthell 1878-1905
  2. Walter E. Russell, 1905-1940
  3. Francis L. Bailey, 1940-1960
  4. Kenneth T.H. Brooks, 1960-1970
  5. Louis J.P. Calisti, 1971-1973
  6. N. Edd Miller, 1973-1978
  7. Robert L. Woodbury, 1979-1987
  8. Patricia R. Plante, 1987-1991
  9. Richard L. Pattenaude, 1991-2007
  10. Selma Botman, 2008 - 2012
  11. Theodora J. Kalikow, 2012-2014

Note: this list does not include acting presidents, nor the deans of Portland Junior College, later the University of Maine at Portland. Prior to the Portland and Gorham merger in 1970, the deans were the heads of the Portland campus, though it was never a stand-alone, four-year college or university. William Corthell and Walter E. Russell carried the official titles of principals, today's equivalent of a university president.

Meet USM's New President

Dr. Cummings is USM's 13th President

We are excited to welcome Dr. Glenn Cummings as USM's 13th President. Dr. Cummings earned his Ed.D. in Higher Education Management from the University of Pennsylvania and was previously Interim President at the University of Maine at Augusta.

Learn More

Connect With Us