Stonecoast MFA in Creative Writing

Ron Currie Jr.


Office Location

Stonecoast MFA Office - 98 Bedford Street, Portland, ME 04102


Stonecoast MFA Office: 207-780-4423

Academic Degrees

  • Clemson University


Ron Currie is the author of the novels Everything Matters, Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles, The One-Eyed Man, and the short story collection God is Dead. His writing has won the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Award, the Addison M. Metcalf Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a Pushcart Prize. His books have been translated into fifteen languages, and his nonfiction and criticism have been published in the New York Times, the Believer, the Chicago Tribune, and elsewhere. He lives in Portland, Maine.

Recent Publications

God is Dead (Viking, 2007)

Everything Matters (Viking, 2010)

Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles (Viking, 2013)

The One-Eyed Man (Viking, 2017)

Creative Activity

Recently finished a memoir, Gentlemen, ostensibly about the sudden death of his best friend, but really about baseball, grief, inappropriate humor, the state of American manhood, the drinking life, etc.

At work on a novel, "Black Jesus," about the greatest basketball player in history returning from retirement at age 51.

Two television projects currently in development.

Awards and Recognition

Notable List, The Best American Essays 2020

Notable List, The Best American Essays 2019

Pushcart Prize, 2017

Finalist, 2014 Maine Literary Award in fiction

Finalist, 2014 Binghamton University John Gardner Fiction Award

First Year Experience Author, Castleton State College, 2013

First Year Experience Author, University of Toledo, 2011

Long list, 2011 IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

Notable list, The Best American Sports Writing 2011

2010 American Library Association Alex Award

First Year Experience Author, Duke University, 2010

2009 American Academy of Arts and Letters Metcalf Award

2008 New York Public Library Young Lions Award

Notable list, The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2006

Short list, 2005 Fish International Short Story Contest

2003 Night Train Magazine Firebox Fiction Award, First Prize

2002 Martin Dibner Memorial Fellowship