Stonecoast MFA in Creative Writing

Martín Espada

Martin Espada

Office Location

Stonecoast MFA Office: 98 Bedford Street, Portland, ME 04103


Stonecoast MFA Office: 207-780-4423

Academic Degrees

  • B.A. History, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • J.D. Law-Northeasten University


Martín Espada has published more than twenty books as a poet, editor, essayist and translator. His new book of poems from Norton is called Floaters. Other books of poems include Vivas to Those Who Have Failed (2016), The Trouble Ball (2011), The Republic of Poetry (2006) and Alabanza (2003). He is the editor of What Saves Us: Poems of Empathy and Outrage in the Age of Trump (2019). He has received the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the Shelley Memorial Award, the Robert Creeley Award, an Academy of American Poets Fellowship, the PEN/Revson Fellowship and a Guggenheim Fellowship. The Republic of Poetry was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. The title poem of his collection Alabanza, about 9/11, has been widely anthologized and performed. His book of essays and poems, Zapata’s Disciple (1998), was banned in Tucson as part of the Mexican-American Studies Program outlawed by the state of Arizona, and reissued by Northwestern. A former tenant lawyer in Greater Boston, Espada is a professor of English at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst.

Areas of Scholarship

Poetry, Creative Writing, Social Justice

Recent Publications

Floaters (W.W. Norton, 2021)

Le Coeur Battant de la Montre (Le Temps des Cerises, France, 2017)

Vivas to Those Who Have Failed (W.W. Norton, 2016)

Sairin Paltosu (Ve Yayinevi, Turkey 2016)

The Meaning of the Shovel (Smokestack Books, UK, 2014)

The Trouble Ball (W.W. Norton, 2011, US & UK)

Soldados en el Jardín (El Gaviero Ediciones, Spain, 2009)

La Tumba de Buenaventura Roig (Terranova Editores, Puerto Rico, 2008)

Crucifixion in the Plaza de Armas (Smokestack Books, UK, 2008)

La República de la Poesía (Mago Editores, Chile, 2007)

The Republic of Poetry (W.W. Norton, 2006 US & UK)



Awards and Recognition

Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, 2018

Doctor of Letters, Middlebury College, 2017

John William Corrington Award for Literary Excellence, 2017

International Latino Book Award, 2017

Pushcart Prize, 2016

Zell Distinguished Poet in Residence, University of Michigan, 2015

Busboys and Poets Award, 2014. Shelley Memorial Award (Poetry Society of America), 2013

Walt Whitman Birthplace Poet in Residence, 2012

International Latino Book Award, 2012

Milt Kessler Poetry Book Award, 2012. Massachusetts Book Award, 2012

La Bloga Best Books of 2011. Split This Rock Favorite Books of 2011

USA Simon Fellowship, 2010

National Hispanic Cultural Center Literary Award, 2008