Women and Gender Studies Program

Women and Gender Studies Award History

The Outstanding Graduate of USM Women and Gender Studies Award is given each year to an alum of the Program who has done outstanding service in the area of gender equity and/or has exhibited professional or academic excellence since graduation.

2014 Julie Beaulieu '00

2013 Julia Davidson ‘08

2012 Carolyn Cunningham ‘97

2011 Kristin Espey '04

2010 Gina Capra ‘05

2009 Martha Huestis '01

2008 Aprill Newman '06

2007 Lauren Webster '02

2006 Cara Bilodeau '02

2005 Nancy Foss '87

The Friend of USM Women and Gender Studies Award is given each year to an individual or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the Women and Gender Studies Program and/or to gender equity in the Southern Maine community.

2014 Reza Jalali & Sue Lewey Hamilton

2013 Megan Williams

2012 Laura Fortman

2011 Susie Bock

2010 Robert Woodbury

2009 Shalom Odokara

2008 Sarah Standiford

2007 Erica Rand

2006 Maine Won't Discriminate

2005 Lois Galgay Reckitt


The Kathleen MacPherson Award was named in honor of founding faculty member Kathleen MacPherson and is given to a WGS faculty member in recognition of outstanding scholarship, effective teaching, and exemplary service to the Women and Gender Studies Program.

2014 Meghan Brodie

2013 Rebecca Lockridge

2012 Christine Holden

2011 Jim Messerschmidt

2010 Susan Fineran

2009 Susan Feiner

2008 Kate Wininger

2007 Eileen Eagan

2006 Wendy Chapkis

2005 Rita Kissen

2004 Lorrayne Carroll

2003 Diana Long

2002 Nancy Gish


Nancy K. Gish Award for Excellence in Feminist Social, Intellectual, Political, or Cultural Practice

This award is named for Nancy K. Gish, founding Director of the USM Women and Gender Studies Program and a sustaining force of feminist academics and engagement on campus, in the community, and in the world. The award recognizes recipients for their commitment to feminist social, intellectual, political or cultural practice at the University of Southern Maine.

2014 Luisa Deprez

2013 Gabriel Demaine

MacPherson Outstanding Feminist Faculty Awardees

MacPherson Awardees (left to right) Elieen Eagan '07, Susan Feiner '09, Wendy Chapkis '06, Lorrayne Carroll '04, and Susan Fineran '10.