Advisory Board

David Carey, Professor of History and Chair, Department of History & Political Science

Lucinda Cole, Associate Professor of English and Director, Women & Gender Studies

Muhammad El-Taha, Professor & Chair, Department of Mathematics & Statistics

Martha Freeman, Chief Human Resources Officer

Christy Hammer, Associate Professor of Social & Behavioral Sciences, Lewiston-Auburn College

Gerry LaSala, Professor of Physics and Director, Southworth Planetarium

Daryl McLlwain, Director, Office of Equity & Compliance

Jim Messerschmidt, Professor & Chair, Department of Criminology

Carol Nemeroff, Professor of Social & Behavioral Sciences, Lewiston-Auburn College

Ah-Kau Ng, Professor of Immunology and Chair, Department of Applied Medical Sciences

Francesca Vassallo, Associate Professor of Political Science

Janet Warnert, Associate Vice President for Finance, Office of Finance & Administration

What is ADVANCE?

"ADVANCE encourages institutions of higher education and the broader  science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) community, including professional societies and other STEM related, not-for-profit organizations, to address various aspects of STEM academic culture and institutional structure that may differentially affect women faculty and academic administrators." (ADVANCE Brochure, pg 2)