David Anthony Durham


  • Stonecoast MFA Faculty


  • MFA in Creative Writing, University of Maryland
  • BA in English, University of Maryland

David Anthony Durham was born in New York City to parents of Caribbean descent. He grew up mostly in Maryland, but has spent the last twenty years on the move, jumping from East to West Coast to the Rocky Mountains, and back and forth to Scotland and France several times. 

He is the author of a trilogy of fantasy novels set in Acacia: The Sacred Band, The Other Lands, and The War With The Mein, as well as the historical novels The Risen, Pride of Carthage, Walk Through Darkness, and Gabriel’s Story. His middle-grade solarpunk fantasy novel, The Shadow Prince, is the first in a series from Tu Books, to be followed by a sequel: The Longest Night in Egypt. His novels have been published in the UK and in French, German, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, and Swedish.

His stories have appeared in four of George RR Martin’s Wild Cards novels: Fort Freak, Lowball, High Stakes, Texas Hold ‘Em, and another is forthcoming in Pairing Up. Other short fiction has been anthologized in Unbound, Unfettered, Unfettered II, It’s All Love, and Gumbo: An Anthology of African-American Writing.

Four of his novels have been optioned for development as feature films, and he has been a writer/consultant on several TV shows.

David has taught at the University of Maryland, the University of Massachusetts, The Colorado College, for the Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation, Cal State University, and at Hampshire College. He’s reviewed for The Washington Post and The Raleigh News & Observer and has served as a judge for the World Fantasy and Pen/Faulkner Awards.

Selected Publications

  • The Shadow Prince (2021)
  • The Risen: a Novel of Spartacus (2016)
  • The Sacred Band (2011)
  • The Other Lands (2009)
  • Acacia: The War With The Mein (2007)


  • MFA in Creative Writing, University of Maryland
  • BA in English, University of Maryland