Dr. and Mrs. Newell A. Augur, Jr. Scholarship


This scholarship, established in 2004 by Dr. and Mrs. Newell Augur, Jr. is awarded preferably to an entering Maine state student with outstanding potential for musical performance and academic success. Student will be designated as an Augur Scholar.


  • Student must be a music major
  • Enrolled full time. (12 cr. Undergraduate; 6 cr. Graduate)
  • Recipient is a resident of the state of Maine.
  • Maintain a minimum cumulative GPA. ( 2.67 Undergraduate; 3.00 Graduate)
  • Enroll in applied music and appropriate ensembles.

Award Amount



February 28

How to Apply

Faculty Nomination on the basis of student application to USM and the student's Osher School of Music audition.

How to Renew

One year, renewable up to three additional years.


Christenia Alden-Kinne
103 Corthell Hall
207 780-5265
Disclaimer: Be sure to read the criteria for individual scholarships carefully. Most scholarships have enrollment and GPA requirements. Award amounts may vary each year and are subject to fund availability. As an NCAA Division III school, USM is prohibited from awarding scholarships based on athletic participation.