|Winter 2019/2020||Spring 2020||Summer 2020||Fall 2020|
October 21, 2019
|November 4, 2019||March 2, 2020||April 6, 2020|
|Open||October 21, 2019||November 25, 2019||March 4, 2020||April 27, 2020|
Priority registration for current and continuing degree seeking students is always the first Monday in April for the Fall semester and the first Monday in November for the Spring semester. Summer registration always begins on the first Monday in March.
Degree seeking students should meet with their academic advisors before registration to assist in course selection. You should leave the meeting with the classes needed for the upcoming semester using the wish list option in MaineStreet and a plan to complete your current degree. The planner and degree progress report (DPR) are also helpful tools.
Open registration for non-degree seeking and all students is about two weeks after the beginning of Priority registration for the Fall and Spring semesters. Non-degree seeking students wishing to register for classes may do so via MaineStreet Self-service, walk-in, or by phone. Once registered, please verify that course information in MaineStreet is accurate. Please report any errors to the Registration & Scheduling Services office at 207-780-5230.
For Newly Admitted Undergraduate Students
Newly admitted degree-seeking students, including first-years, transfers, and readmitted students register for their firsts semester of USM courses during required Advising & Course Selection (ACS) appointments. ACS appointments start on the following dates:
- May 1st for students admitted to the Fall term
- December 1st for students admitted to the Spring term
- March 5th for students admitted to the Summer term
- To learn more about how to schedule your ACS appointment please visit Next Steps for Admitted Students.
- Submit a Request to Register which will initiate a follow up communication, either email or phone call, from Registration Services.
- If you have previously taken courses at USM, register 24 hours a day by using the University's MaineStreet Student Self-Service.
Phone: Register by calling (207) 780-5230, Monday- Friday, 8:00am-4:30pm.
Walk-In: Register in person at the following campus offices:
- Registration & Scheduling Services
- 107 Bailey Hall, Gorham Campus
- 140 Luther Bonney Hall, Portland Campus
- 119 Lewiston Auburn College, Student Success Center
Proficiency Requirements - Newly admitted degree students including freshmen, transfer, and readmitted students, who have not otherwise met proficiency requirements, must complete a placement examination in mathematics before registering for courses. The result of the examination will be used to determine appropriate course placement. For degree seeking students, costs associated with this exam are covered in the student’s enrollment fee; non-degree students are encouraged to take the placement exam for a fee of $20. For information, contact the Office of Academic Assessment at 207-780-4383 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org. Their main office is located at 628 Law Building on the Portland campus, and their testing facility is located at 240 Luther Bonney Hall on the Portland campus.
Registration Changes - Any changes to pass/fail, audit, or repeat status must be completed by the end of the add/drop period. Please note: courses taken to satisfy Core curriculum, academic honors, major and/or minor requirements may not be taken on a pass/fail or audit basis. Repeat forms are required for students repeating a class with a different course prefix and number.
Credit Limit - Students may take a maximum of 18 credits each term (Fall, Spring, and Summer). Additional credits require advisor's and dean's permission.
Please note: Students may take up to 4.5 credits during the brief Winter Session.
Late Registration - During the Fall & Spring semesters, students may add a course during the first week on a space available basis. After the first week, students must have permission from the instructor to add. During Winter & Summer, students may add a course after the first day with permission from the instructor.
After the add/drop period, students must complete and submit an Add Form with the signature of the faculty of record. Students can also obtain faculty permission via email. Please note, payment for added courses is due within 10 calendar days of registration.
Academic Withdrawal Policy - Students withdrawing after the add/drop period through 60% of the course will receive a W grade. Students withdrawing after 60% of the course will receive an automatic grade of F. Failure to submit notice of withdrawal may result in a failing grade and financial liability. Discussion with a faculty member is NOT proper notification of change.
Grades and Transcripts - If you are a current USM student, grades and transcripts are available online via MaineStreet Student Self-Service or by completing a Transcript Request form and submit it to the Registration & Scheduling Services office.
Audits - Students may register for courses on an audit basis. With an audit registration, the student may participate in class work, but is not required to take examinations. An audit registrant should know, however, that state departments of education do not accept for certification or other purposes any course taken on an audit basis. An audit registrant is required to pay full tuition for the course. Registration status may not be changed beyond the add/drop period.
Apply to Graduate - Students who expect to complete baccalaureate or graduate degree requirements must complete the application in Maine Street Student Self-Service or by completing an Application for Degree. This form is also available at all Advising Centers and the Registration & Scheduling Services office.
Disclaimer - The University reserves the right to cancel course offerings, to set minimum and maximum class sizes, to change designated instructors of courses, and to make decisions affecting the academic standing of anyone participating in a course or program offered by the University of Southern Maine.